Sean Trank CT Scan

I got a call from radiation yesterday saying I had missed my first radiation appointment.  This is the first I have heard from them in two weeks and as far as I knew I was supposed to wait for a call scheduling me for my first treatment.  I calmly told the receptionist that no one told me about this appointment and she then quickly said she would call me back.  Meanwhile, I had to drop of the disc for my CT scans yesterday so I could hear the results today.  Sarah and I went into Mount Zion Medical Center and delivered the disc and found out my Tuesday appointment was cancelled and all the staff was unsure if my Doctor would be able to call me or not about the results.  Today is half over and I still have no news.

Ok back to yesterday, after we dropped off the disc we decided to go down to the radiation clinic and find out firsthand what was going on because the receptionist never called me back.  I explained to the receptionist at the desk what had happened and she called the other receptionist who had called me.  With a confused look on her face she told us the technician would come out and talk to us directly and that we should take a seat.  We waited and then my radiation oncologist walks out looking so very confused and stood in front of us for a few moments before he asks, “did you start Chemo this week?”  I answer “No”.  Awkward silence, I followed up with, “I start on Monday. Did they neglect to tell you?”  The doctor still looking confused said “Yeah that makes sense; we will start you next Monday.”  The conversation got more and more staggered and finally another woman came out and gave me a card with my newly scheduled appointment.

I guess the part of this whole situation that bothers me the most is that maybe the cancer is gone and more treatment maybe unnecessary. Regardless of what the scans show the doctors will still continue treatments to be safe.  All of this uncertainty is hard not to dwell on and the anticipation is driving me nuts.

Here is what is certain; I start radiation round 1 and chemo round 4 on Monday.  It will be eight days of treatment in a row.  Even though I got a CT scan done it seems as if the doctors are going to make me continue treatment to round 5 which is also bothersome because these treatments can cause cancer.  Oh the irony!

I hope to write more soon but I have been experiencing writers block due to chemo brain which is actually a real thing.  That is all.
Be Blessed
Sean Trank

P.S. If you wanna do something for me that would help me for my next round that starts on Monday.  Post a funny video(s) in the comments.  Moose had suggested that last round and I loved it.  Also please share this update to anyone who is praying for me right now.  Thanks.

About Sean Trank

My name is Sean Trank. I aspire to help those who want to succeed. I am a promoter of many things and I love making good ideas known. I also have a unique sense of humor that has been honed and shaped from having a Jewish Christian background...or maybe it is because my childhood house had lead-based paint. Ok so please explore this website .

26 responses »

  1. becka says:

    So it’s not a video, or a photo, but I have a funny story to tell 🙂
    You know how “embarrassed” sounds a lot like “embarazada” which means pregnant in Spanish? Yeah, well in front of my whole church I announced to everyone that the pastor likes to embarazar (or impregnate) all the new people at our church. OOPPS!!!!

    I hope that put a smile on your face. I’m praying for you friend and I know that God has good things planned for you in the midst of this suffering. Keep rooted in Him!

  2. Adrienne D. says:

    I pray, Sean, that our Heavenly Father give you and Sarah wisdom on how to go forward, to continue treatment or not. Thank you for sharing your story with us. I can imagine it takes a great deal of energy to do so. I pray the scan shows no trace of cancer anywhere.

  3. davidlovi says:

    BTW, not every interview on that vid I put is “good” nor do I endorse them all….

  4. christine trank says:

    Have you talked about this with your consulting oncologist, Dr. Steinberg?  Maybe you should give him a call?? Is there also something called “Mother’s empathy chemo brain”?  I think I have that! 

  5. Jack Sternberg, MD says:

    So sorry that the right hand doesn’t know what the left hand is doing. Makes one lose confidence but that’s what happens when dealing with a huge medical center.

    Now for the good news. I believe this scan show a excellent shrinkage of the cancer. I seem to remember what the first scan looked like and it is much improved. Exactly how much will take the radiologist to comment on.

    But, hear this clearly. NO ONE was ever cured of this type of lung cancer by chemotherapy alone. It is imperative that you continue with combined chemotherapy at the same time as radiation. The excellent response that you have achieved so far means the cancer is sensitve and responding and when combined with radiation, will even be MORE effective.

    I know what you have gone through so far is horrible (I watched people do this for 30
    years) but in your case, it looks like it will be worth it

  6. Dave Lewis says:

    Hi Sean,
    I had mentioned that at Living Word Family Church, in Santa Rosa (1020 Center Dr.), that a large number of people had been healed of Cancer; and when Pastor Mario Murillo was at the church, there were over 300 people in 1 mo. healed of cancer, including one lady who was given a wewek to live, be her Doctor. During a service, Pastor Murillo said “There is someone being healed of terminal lung cancer. Pastor Murillo told her to go to her Doctor, and be checked. She said the Doctor said there was no sign that she had ever had cancer.
    GOD Still Heals Today. Pastor’s Larry and Jan King, of Living Word Family Church lay hands on people in every Sunday morning and Wednesday evening service (7 p.m.) and healings of all kinds happen, by the Holy Spirit, as well as Holy Spirit Baptism.
    Nothing Is Impossible With The God I Serve.

  7. jenn says:

    Uhhh, so, were you in Israel when this all happened?😘😜😊

  8. Bruce says:

    Dave, the problem with your story is that it might convince people that real medical treatment is unnecessary. You are basically doing a disservice to anyone you tell it to.

    Good luck Sean, i’m really rooting for you.

    • Bruce, this comment seems to me, somewhat offensive. What Dave had to say was very up lifting and gives hope. I see no reason to bash hopeful words whether you are a Christian or not. Because Sean believes in healing he should be encouraged by a message such as his. Nothing was said contradicting medical science in his statement. I would suggest that if you have nothing positive to say, do not say it here on a blog contradicting what Sean believes and what everyone here hopes for for him.I very much believe in Medical science and I’m sure that Dave does too, Saying that it is a “disservice” is completely false.

  9. emeba says:

    Thanks for sharing Sean and thanks to Dr. Sternberg for your input and care! We’re all pulling for you. I sent you a funny video by email too.

  10. Debbie Jarus says:

    Here a small Ukrainian gymnast does the Trank Plank. Have you ever tried it like this…? http://www.utrend.tv/v/amazing-girls/

  11. Debbie Jarus says:

    Something funny for Monday. You are in our prayers. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TK2_ezOBa2A

  12. Rich says:

    Encouraging to get the input from Dr. Jack — so despite the frustrations with the medical system which I experience a lot these days with my dad and his nursing home/doctors — sounds like it will be worth it plowing ahead. Not fun. But worth it. And now a funny video – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EFFqwFv6j-Y

  13. David Minsky says:

    Here go two of my favorites, enjoy:

  14. Michael says:

    “Count it all joy, my brothers,[a] when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.” James 1:2-4

    Remember all our glorious Lord’s promises Sean, they are sweet as honey and meant to see us through as we fully trust Him 🙂

    Love ya in Christ, bro. Praying for ya!

  15. Amer says:

    Don’t know if you’ve seen this yet. You might not initially expect to find a ping pong match funny but my sides were hurting after a couple minutes and it just kept getting better. Watch it all!

    http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=IE_ylD1VkHs#

  16. This is old, but I still laugh when I watch it.

    Regarding treatment, they were very blunt with us. Even though Elaine’s surgeon “got it all”, the cancer tumor still leaves behind tiny particles (think crumbs left behind by a cookie) that can start new tumors. The odds for her type of cancer: surgery only, 15% long term survival. Surgery plus chemo/radiation protocol, 85%. Made the decision pretty easy.

  17. Cecilia Butcher says:

    Not to be concerned about what humans do God is ALWAYS in control
    keeping you in prayer and it doesn’t hurt to listen to Dr. Jack

  18. I am continuing to pray for you. This verse may encourage you: Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer Rom. 12:12

  19. aforbat says:

    Here is a verse that may encourage you: Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer. Rom 12:12
    I am continuing to pray for you dear brother! Andrew

  20. Pam Holden says:

    Greetings!

    I hadn’t seen anything new on your Facebook recently, so I came here.

    I can relate to your frustration with the idea of continuing treatment when the cancer may no longer be there. I had a lumpectomy for breast cancer, but the margins weren’t clear, so another surgery was required. I opted for a full mastectomy and partial reconstruction, since a lot of tissue had already been taken for the lumpectomy. There were no cancer cells in the remaining tissue, which made my husband wonder if the mastectomy had been too much. I refuse to think that way, because really, what good would it do? Instead, I concentrate on how I can now better relate to other people who’ve had extensive surgery, which gives me a better platform for ministry to them. You, too, will be better able to minister to others when your experience is over because you’ve endured unexpected and prolonged suffering.

    By the way, two extremely helpful books that I read during my cancer experience are “A Place of Healing” and “Glorious Intruder”, both by Joni Eareckson Tada. I believe you would find great encouragement in reading them once your “chemo brain” clears up. 🙂

    May the Lord continue to give you and your wife strength and endurance in this trial.

    Your sister in Christ,
    Pam

Leave a Reply

