happy-chicken1Everything I eat is organic!  Oh look an egg, I bet a happy free range chicken laid it.  The Trank Family Farm has always been a nice getaway, especially so soon after round 2 of chemotherapy.  Last night as all my bones were in pain trying to produce much needed WBC, I decided to do my favorite going-home past time:  purging old stuff into the trash.  I have gone through several spools of mixed CDs and have taken much pleasure in chucking then into the garbage.

Currently, I am on a lot of meds so please excuse my writing as it is easily influenced right now.  Like I was saying, I have a lot of things, not necessarily things that have any value- just a bunch of stuff.  I know several of you can relate.  The more stuff I encounter the more the question of what I will leave behind comes up for me.  If I died in the next year and they had an estate sale I wonder what people will think when they see half a closet filled with medieval weaponry.  Well that is better than a barn full of live rattlesnakes, ask my dad about that one.

cancer

Here is the thing, I purge because I don’t want to leave behind any of this stuff.  Like the baggage from Pilgrim’s Progress, I would love nothing more than to shed it all into a giant pit and be done with it.  Christmas always takes on the American dream of stuff-mongering and when you pick up any store catalog you can just feel it welling up inside.  I think, ‘Yeah that could be useful; I’ll keep it in my closet and, you know, use. . . maybe.  I guess with these holidays there is an underlying hope that says this year could be the greatest, or maybe these things will make you happy for now.  I get it, today when I looked at a catalog even from Best Buy I got depressed because the one thing I want is not for sale.  Not having cancer would be the best Christmas ever, ironically I have had 27 of those Christmases.   Which brings me to my point.

5200-004-Ant-Hill-girl

We are like tiny ants trying to make our little claims on life, collecting and gathering material so we can build something for ourselves. Little do we know a great flood is coming that will wash away all that we have deemed ours, and the truth is we need to see the much bigger picture to find happiness.  That happiness is found in being with God and doing his will and there is nothing that can destroy it.  So store up treasures in heaven (not the stuff you can buy in a Best Buy catalog) and allow this Christmas to be the greatest Christmas- of seeking the will of God.

Cancer is killing my body, but God has already saved me and can save us all.

Be Blessed

Sean Trank

About Sean Trank

My name is Sean Trank. I aspire to help those who want to succeed. I am a promoter of many things and I love making good ideas known. I also have a unique sense of humor that has been honed and shaped from having a Jewish Christian background...or maybe it is because my childhood house had lead-based paint. Ok so please explore this website .

12 responses »

  1. Heather says:

    Well said.

  2. Micha says:

    Amen on the purging. May God hold you up in His loving arms!!! Merry Christmas Adam!!! (day before Christmas Eve). I love you brother!!!

  3. Lorenda J. Dunham says:

    Praying you have a wonderful day with your family this Christmas!

  4. Robyn Wilk says:

    Sean, this is exactly what I have planned for my Sabbatical…to get rid of stuff. I like what you said about what people will think of us by the stuff we have left. I am going to use that thought as I clean out my house this June. Ah, to live a life unencumbered by the unneccesary. Thank you for your exhortation. Praying for you today and always.

  5. imanalto says:

    Glad you get to be at home with your folks for Christmas. I pray you all have a blessed time. Purging every six months or so is a good habit to get into. Learned that from a pastor I really respect many years ago. Keeps the accumulation of stuff to a minimum. And if I haven’t used something in six months why not let someone else have it.

  6. V says:

    Dear Sean,

    I recently posted information intended to be supportive of you, and did not receive so much as a courtesy response. If you weren’t seeking support, admiration, or pity, you wouldn’t publicly post your cancer updates.

    To the point (sans environmental factors):

    Hurt (Unresolved) = Anger (Unresolved) = Hate (Unresolved) = Cancer

    Regardless how it got there, hate is the sin completely opposite Love. I wouldn’t be so “resigned” to facing Jesus carrying the anti-thesis of His character (unresolved/unforgiveness hate).

    Quote:

    “The Link Between Cancer and Unexpressed Anger: There is much evidence to suggest that repressed anger, hate and resentment is the leading root emotional cause in the development of cancer.

    Cancer surgeon Dr Ryke-Geerd Hamer…has examined 20,000 cancer patients with all types of cancer. Dr Hamer noticed that all his patients seemed to have something in common: there had been some kind of psycho-emotional conflict prior to the onset of their cancer – usually a few years before – a conflict that had never fully resolved. …”

    http://www.alternative-cancer-care.com/cancer-anger-link.html

    The preceding is also often found with “high intellects”. Unfortunately, “Knowledge “puffeth up”.

    *I will not post to you again, seeing my first gracious efforts were so disregarded. I do hope and wish the issues which brought you to this point are resolved acceptably with Christ.

    • Sean Trank says:

      Hi V according to my wordpress comments stats this is your first comment and though I usually don’t write responses to all my comments I found yours slightly upsetting. I write my updates as a way of coping with the fact that I have cancer. I keep people updated so that they know how to pray for me and my family during this time. I have had more alternative cancer websites shared with me in the last three months than I get birthday greetings on Facebook. You seem to be saying in your comment that the reason I have cancer is because of hate in my life, this is not the case. I highly and strongly suggest you reassess this idea as it fails to understand Gods grace. Your advice feels like the advise given by one of Jobs friends who thought Job was being afflicted because of some unknown sin. God rebukes Jobs friend. The rain falls on the righteous and the wicked.

      • Bruce says:

        V seems to have a strange way of looking at things. Head up, Sean! People are generally very insensitive, and V is no exception. Perhaps if he/she was stricken with cancer, then he’d/she’d have a different opinion. I’m surprised you haven’t deleted this comment and blocked this user. While everyone is entitled to their opinion, you can only go so far until you reach the absurd, assuming, and pointless. V’s post certainly falls into those categories, so in addition to deserving to be ignored, it should promptly be removed, in my opinion. The points he/she raises are completely irrelevant and don’t even need discussing. G-d bless and season’s greetings, Sean. Keep us updated!

  7. John F. Early says:

    Sean, I am a little strapped for time at the moment, but wanted to let you know that I read a bit about you in the recent “Jews for Jesus” newsletter. Me, I was called Sean by my parents (both born in Ireland) and relatives, but only them. Nowadays, since I live in NYC and mostly only cops and firemen answer to that name (ask me how I know that)! I’ll say only that I’ll read more about you when I have more time. God loves you and me, and is with both of us all the time. Me, I have trouble believing it sometimes (I’m 70 years old now) but — Why not? God is God, and I’m only yours, with Best wishes,
    Sean

  8. Pam Holden says:

    Hi Sean. I read about your situation in the ‘Jews for Jesus’ newsletter and I just finished reading all your cancer updates. I want you to know that I’m praying for you and your wife.

    Three years ago, at the relatively young age of 45, I was diagnosed with breast cancer despite having no risk factors for it. Since it was so unexpected, I knew the Lord’s Hand was in it, and I felt and thought many of the same things you’ve expressed in your blog. Thankfully, I didn’t have to endure the chemotherapy and radiation, but I did have a mastectomy and that took some getting used to. Still, I have no negative feelings about having had cancer; the Lord blessed me in many ways through the experience. I see that He is blessing you as well and I trust that He will continue to do so.

    Thank you for your witness and your service for the Lord.

    Your sister in Christ,
    Pam

  9. Cecilia says:

    Greetings Friend – since you were a toddler 🙂

    Goodness just read V’s response. You are right V sounds like one of Job’s so called friends. Oh well some folks just can’t get over them selves. Praising God with you that 99.9% of comments are people that love and pray for you.

    Glad you had Christmas with your sweet family. You are constantly in my thoughts and prayers.

    Much love
    Cecilia

  10. Bobbie Howard says:

    Hmmm …My Bible says there are things Adonai hates and it is not Sean’s words that fall on that list, Proverbs 6:16 There are six things Adonai hates,
    seven which he detests:
    17 a haughty look, a lying tongue,
    hands that shed innocent blood,
    18 a heart that plots wicked schemes,
    feet swift in running to do evil,
    19 a false witness who lies with every breath,
    and him who sows strife among brothers.

    Seems there is a post in this thread that falls into this category… Saying a pray for one who would choose to sow strife instead of love. ((hugs to Sean and Sarah))

Leave a Reply

