struggling

Considering suffering has brought much light to the reality of God.  Fact is, suffering will come into your life at some point and when it does, it may remain a mystery to you as why it is all happening.  It is not why we suffer as much as it is how we suffer.

currentmschiquitaOne of the fruits of the spirit is long suffering.  Honestly it was never a fruit that I have aspired to grow in my walk with God, but perhaps now I can see that this fruit is being cultivated, matured, and ripened in my life.  When I think of fruit I always have that visual of a big basket full of tropical mixed fruits.  Like the Chiquita banana lady with her fruit hat.  This visual does not match very well biblically in that the writers were probably dealing with grapes used to produce wine.  In the last year, thanks to Daniel Baron, I have learned a lot about how wine is produced.  GrapevineThe best wine is produced through great stress and trials.  It is not moist, rich, or well watered soil that gathers great flavor for the grape but rather a literal fight for survival in hard, rocky, water depraved soil that creates the amazing unique favors of wine.  Ironically, I probably wouldn’t be able to taste these flavors now as it would taste like a chain link fence… My favorite ;).

My point is this, fruit may grow but it is long suffering that brings quality to the end results.  It is my hope that those who read this will understand how important it is to suffer well.  That when trail and pressure come into your lives that you too will be found faithful in long-suffering.

If you want the best example of long-suffering, look to Jesus.  He was rejected by his own people and took on our deserved suffering so that he can bring us the very best wine.  Some may not understand the weight of this truth until they too have tasted the many blessings that come from walking with God in suffering.  Though my journey with cancer has really just begun I am now beginning to see a sweet road marked with suffering and a savior who is carrying my burden with me, who bears the cup of salvation filled with the finest wine that can ever be produced.

Be Blessed

Sean Trank

About Sean Trank

My name is Sean Trank. I aspire to help those who want to succeed. I am a promoter of many things and I love making good ideas known. I also have a unique sense of humor that has been honed and shaped from having a Jewish Christian background...or maybe it is because my childhood house had lead-based paint. Ok so please explore this website .

9 responses »

  1. Joann Turner says:

    Beautiful inspiring words!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Lorenda J. Dunham says:

    Thank you Sean for sharing! I was just what I needed to hear this morning.

  3. laureen says:

    me too…needed to hear. My complaining and whining yesterday over something SO trivial…God is good, no matter what, he will always provide and take care of us. Thank you! 🙂

  4. Linda Storm says:

    Very good words for anyone!! What you are going through is making a difference to others too. Loved seeing you get all those gifts yesterday!

  5. Marcy Meeuwes says:

    Just Precious!!! As you are precious too. Thank-you Sean, thank-you for your steadfastness-you are!

  6. Shanna says:

    Awesome word! Your faithfulness and joy despite your suffering is already producing the fruit of encouraging others who are also struggling, and the fruit of showing just how powerful God is, that His glory can be shown through the people who are going through the worst things in life. You are quite a testimony in that way and have encouraged me. 🙂 We have never met but I am a part of the YMJA prayer team and have been praying for you!

  7. Rich says:

    Thanks, Sean. And I loved the Chiquita banana image compared to biblical fruit.

  8. Joann Turner says:

    Sean, I haven’t heard how you are doing in quite some time. I am still continuing to pray for you and would love to hear how you are doing. If you don’t feel well enough to post an answer perhaps someone else could respond to this to give me an update. Yours in Christ, Joann

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • jenn says:

      Hi Joanne. i am not certain if you have heard this, but onJuly 2nd, Sean went valiantly home to be with our Lord. Here is an incredible tribute that waa made by dear friends. Please be sure to watch to the end. Oh to be more like Jesus. Blessings – jennifer

Leave a Reply

