World_in_God__s_hand_perspective

As I sat on a plane heading to New York for the Grassroots Non-Conference, a woman a few rows in front of me asked for a coke and the flight attended immediately ran to the back and came back with her request.  She quickly took a sip and then yelled “I asked for diet coke!  What, are you trying to kill me!”  Though the woman had clearly not indicated that the coke be diet, the flight attendant ran back and got her another cup full of diet coke.  He apologized and traded the cokes with the woman.  She then began to rant about the non-diet coke like it was the end of the world.  She accused the flight attendant of trying to ruin her health and she just spewed out all sort of word vomit.  Maybe 15 minutes later she ran out of insults and the flight attendant apologized again and then walked away.  Everything in me wanted to say “Hey lady stop complaining about getting the wrong death beverage it all gives you cancer anyways” and then give her a nice sputum sample to make my point.

angry_woman_coke

Have a little perspective, this woman made a huge deal about something so small and insignificant.  The fact is diet or not the coke will kill you.  Maybe if she was in my shoes she would have been a little more thoughtful about what she complains about.

In light of this weekend’s Grassroots gathering, I thought a lot about perspective and how mine has drastically shifted.  BC (before cancer) I did not think much of mortality or about the fact that we are not guaranteed tomorrow.  I knew it was true but I never really let it sink in.  I spent a majority of my time thinking creatively of new content for work and to be financially responsible and pay off student loans as quickly as possible.

This weekend many people asked me what my latest project are, I wanted to say “Fighting Cancer” but the part of me that wants everything to be normal again spoke for me and told them all about the new Shout Out podcasts coming out soon and the Journeys of Faith that we have, or the possible new Haf-Torah Portion for Parsha in 60 Seconds, or the Street Witness videos from San Francisco, or the campaign videos that were made for ingathering, or Jhan Moskowitz’s new/old study on Chronicles that was just released.  There are so many projects that I wish were my main priority but now in survival mode It was hard to speak of all of these things with much enthusiasm as before.  (By the way if you want to see my work, click the links on the project title to see.)  Side note one of the projects I am most excited about is called the Network Evangelism Team and if you are a strong believer in Jesus and want to share your faith please check it out and consider trying it out.

The fact is that it has crossed my mind several times now that I might not survive and if that is the case what are the most important things I want to do before that happens.  I spent a lot of time praying about this throughout this weekend and I believe my greatest desire through all this is that God would awaken those who have no faith or have walked away from faith and that God would bring them home.  I feel that in the last few years the world has consumed several of my very close friends and I have felt so burdened to see their homecoming.  Nothing is impossible for the God of the universe and there is absolutely no mess we can get ourselves in that God can’t save us from.

So how has my perspective changed?  Well, Jesus is carrying all my heavy bags so you won’t find me sweating the small stuff as I completely trust God to be my strength and even though my journey will be full of heavy, risky, scary times, our God is stronger.

How has God been speaking to you?  Please tell me in the comments.

Be Blessed

Sean Trank

 

P.S. Tomorrow I will be having my second bronchoscopy, please pray for peace as I go in.

About Sean Trank

My name is Sean Trank. I aspire to help those who want to succeed. I am a promoter of many things and I love making good ideas known. I also have a unique sense of humor that has been honed and shaped from having a Jewish Christian background...or maybe it is because my childhood house had lead-based paint. Ok so please explore this website .

22 responses »

  1. trysch says:

    I pray for you every night. thank you for letting me know how to pray today.

    May the peace of Jesus fill your soul and the souls of those who are closest to you as you fight the battle that God has given you. You are touching many lives.

  2. Joann turner says:

    Sean, I am so sorry that you are having to endure the cancer and all it’s complications! I will be praying for you to have complete healing! I know you will be able to touch many lives through this. To God be the Glory!

  3. Caleb Roose says:

    Sean, I want you to know that I have and am praying for you.

  4. Ellen Weisberger says:

    Thank you for your posts. I love reading them and I love your sense of humor. I too have friends that have turned to the world and my heart breaks for them. I will be praying for you and following your posts.

  5. Very well done Sean, I know you have a lot more.

  6. Blair Francisco says:

    Sean, I just wanted to encourage you with a passage of Scripture, John 9:1-3; “1 As he passed by, he saw a man blind from birth. 2 And his disciples asked him, “Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind?” 3 Jesus answered, “It was not that this man sinned, or his parents, but that the works of God might be displayed in him.” I am convinced that you have been chosen by God to be burdened with cancer so that “the works of God might be displayed in you.”

  7. Sue Montroy says:

    Sean, you are a special young man with a call of God on your life… You win.

  8. Russ Resnik says:

    Hey Sean, I believe we met at AMF last summer. I’ve followed your ministry from some distance, but I’m deeply impressed and encouraged by your notes on the battle with cancer. You’ve got my prayers, my friend.
    I don’t drink Coke, but I’ll find something else to never complain about again!

  9. Tige Smith says:

    Sean – thank you for sharing with us. You have encouraged and inspired me.

    Brian Regan talks about “Captain U Planet” (similar to the woman you sat behind on the plane) – very humorous: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4qA1qziN484.

    Missin’ playing bball with you!

  10. Laurie Calkins says:

    Hi Sean,
    I have been praying for you every day. I am an RN from Palm Desert, Ca. You have really caused God to touch my spirit. I know you have probably touched a lot of people. I know you have got to be going through such a hard time now. Just stay close to Jesus. I pray He will give you His peace and strength. Just keep your eyes on Him. Nothing else matters. I will also keep your loved ones in prayer. Thank you for sharing yourself with us. God bless you. Laurie.

  11. Marcy Meeuwes says:

    Dear Sean, Laurie Calkins comments reminded me of Isaiah 26:3,4 Where GOD tells us in His wonderful Word that He/”You will keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on You: because he trust in You. Trust you in the LORD for ever: for in the LORD Yahweh is everlasting strength” This Truth of GOD’s Word and Who He is has always given me hope and confidence in the midst of what would seem hopeless. But with GOD nothing is hopeless and so He is with you every step. He is with you and your dear family. He is bringing you through and we do thank Him for your care. Thank you again Sean for letting us come with you as you come through, to hold you fast in prayer.
    Blessings and Love always to you and yours because of Y’shua HaMashiach,
    Marcy

  12. rutharosen says:

    Keeping it real, as usual Sean.artha Jacobs and I prayers for you last night. What time is the procedure today?

  13. Elizabeth Stein says:

    Praying much. Btw, you are a wonderful wordsmith. 🙂

  14. mike says:

    In my prayers, found this blog when searching Jews for. Jesus.

  15. Doug Drake says:

    You asked how God is speaking to me: God has been speaking to me about obedience. I find I am a person of good intentions. I need to become a person who produces good fruit. I believe that obedience and submission are pre-requisites to that end. Now, I must determine to be that person of submission and obedience and not just pay lip service to that concept.

    Many prayers and much love for you and Sarah.

  16. Larry Dubin says:

    Dear Sean……
    The DC Branch of Jews for Jesus read your “Perspective” blog during our time of prayer today. We appreciate you and are thankful for your thoughts. The Lord God used you to remind us of His calling on our lives; we need to be about the Messiah’s business daily. We prayed for you and Sarah too!
    Shalom and Grace….
    Larry

  17. Bruce says:

    Sean I am terribly sorry to hear about your affliction. My father has suffered from two bouts of cancer (one of them being stage III prostate) and I can tell you, it was the hardest thing my family has had to deal with. Emotionally, it was certainly the hardest thing I’ve had to cope with. On that note, I wish you a speedy recovery. G-d bless.

    On a side note, I know you had pneumonia that led to your lung scan and subsequent finding of cancer; but what symptoms did you have that directly related to the lung cancer? I’ve had shortness of breath for about two years now, and I’ve always put it down to anxiety. I’ve gone in for xrays, which have all come back negative for any signs of cancer, but I’ve never had an MRI. I’d be grateful for your kind response on this, when you have some spare time. I appreciate if you are too busy to respond, though. Who could have a spare moment in a time like this. G-d bless, again, Sean.

  18. Robyn Wilk says:

    Sean, you are touching more people than you know. Thank you for this exhortation. Praying for you, Sarah, and your whole family.

  19. Tracy says:

    Ruth Rosen is my friend. she asked me to pray for you. Her comments about you and her apparent respect for you impressed me enough to “follow” you online a little … My goodness. If you ware as big as your words — you certainly are impressive. God, thy will be done in this young mans life. Oh God please use every min and ever inch of his life to so your work on Earth. And God, please let it be your will that he live a long life serving you and worshipping you with people here who love him!!! Amen.

  20. Susie Haglund says:

    Praying for you Sean. Living in Afghanistan is also a way to refocus your mind and priorities. Having power and heat are wonderful blessings each day and not to be taken for granted. Jesus will carry you through this journey and use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

