Sean Trank Cancer

What a week this has been.  I am overwhelmed by the amount of prayers and love that has been directed towards Sarah and me as we begin this battle against cancer.  I am deeply blessed and encouraged by all of our friends and family that have already stepped up to help me during this time.  I truly feel loved and that love has encouraged me greatly as I optimistically now face several tests in the next two weeks.

Yesterday, I went to a chest clinic and found out that I have non-small cell cancer which is more common.  The term they used was squamous.  They are unable to actually determine what stage or how large the cancer is until I have my PET/CT.  I will be having my scans on the 24th which is the day before my birthday… yay!

After a lot of processing I have been thinking a lot about God’s Grace and several people have asked me if I have asked the question “Why me?”  When I think about that question, I always think “Why not me?”  I may not have done things that people naturally think merit such a condition such as smoking, chewing, or huffing something; but I feel that I have been given the grace and peace of Jesus in that I can handle this.  I can face mortality securely holding onto my savior and say it may not be well in my lung but it certainly is well with my soul.  I would also add that it is better that I face this than someone who may still need to encounter the life changing love of our Messiah.

As I move forward to treatment I know I will face darker days but today and tomorrow I know I can rest in Y’shua who is my rock.  Please continue to pray and I will keep you updated on any news and such.

Be Blessed

 

Sean Trank

About Sean Trank

My name is Sean Trank. I aspire to help those who want to succeed. I am a promoter of many things and I love making good ideas known. I also have a unique sense of humor that has been honed and shaped from having a Jewish Christian background...or maybe it is because my childhood house had lead-based paint. Ok so please explore this website .

31 responses »

  1. Adriana says:

    Sean, you are an inspiration. Thank you for sharing your journey with the rest of us. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your fam. 🙂

  2. Kevin Kohut says:

    I am amazed and blessed by how you are reacting to this. God is good. Continuing to pray for you and Sarah.

  3. Carol Wilbanks says:

    Prayers for you from Alabama to the Son of God

  4. Sandy says:

    Sean, thanks for sharing this. May each day be a new one you can look up and continue to thank our wonderful God. He has you in His mighty hands.

  5. Shawn Karon says:

    Thanks for keeping us updated Sean! Really appreciate your honesty and willingness to share your thoughts during this time. You are a great witness to the peace that passes all understanding!

  6. rutharosen says:

    Thanks for the update Sean. I’m glad you and Sarah feel loved cause you are!

  7. CJ says:

    you have such strong faith in the midst of a storm that you are going through, you and your family are in my prayers, may the healing hands of Messiah touch you, your family, the doctors and the medical staff to bring you to full recovery all through the power of Yeshua

  8. Shelly says:

    Hi Sean, we don’t know each other but I am Matt Friedman’s aunt. I saw your site on Matt’s fb page and read your post. I am a breast cancer survivor and feel exactly the same way. I never asked why me. I always said the same, why not me. Who else would I want this to happen to? You touched my heart with your post. I pray for your healing, and Shalom in Yeshua’s love.

  9. You’re keeping a very good atitude, and that atitude in itself is something God can use. God will give you the grace to go through this. Praying for ya!

  10. will88 says:

    My favorite line: “…it may not be well in my lung but it certainly is well with my soul.” Love ya man. Hang in there.

  11. Ron Mcdevitt says:

    Dear Sean
    I am praying for you. thank you for your testimony
    Ron

  12. God be with you and give you strength. I am praying for your comfort and healing, but mostly for God to show his glory in a powerful through you while he does a powerful work in you.

    Phil. 1:29 For it has been granted to you on behalf of Christ not only to believe on him, but also to suffer for him,

  13. Alan says:

    Praying for you Sean love you buddy!

  14. Rich says:

    Sean, thanks so much for your honest response to a hard situation. I’m encouraged by your positive outlook. I’m not necessarily an optimist by nature but I have also found myself asking “why not me” — or “why me and not others” in the face of blessing! God has given you a loving circle of family and friends and a buoyant spirit. Let’s all journey with you in this time.

  15. Danielle says:

    Hang in there Sean! Jose and I will be praying for you and will continue watching your blog for updates.

  16. Tania says:

    Sean…Marc and I will keep praying for you and Sarah. Jesus is our strength.

  17. hazakone says:

    Thank you for your update, Sean. (& Sarah) It is an honor to see how G-d has placed His peace at this time within you. As with others, I will continue to keep you and Sarah in prayer for G-ds best.

    Sarah, you too will continue to experience hills and valleys. I pray for you to find “rest in Him” even if for a moment. Please feel free to call if you need to “vent/dump your emotions.” They are safe with me. Really. And then we will pray.

    When a soldier in His army is struggling thru life/things, we are called to surround you and protect you, to bathe you in prayer. Thank you for allowing us to do this walk with you.

    In Him, Vicki Tasman 616-821-2900

  18. brian says:

    I came across this story on LinkedIn, and while I do not know you, I am inspired and humbled by the faith and peace you have during this trying time. Prayers go out to you and your family.

  19. Kathleen Czech says:

    Definitely praying for you Sean!

  20. GL Forward says:

    Hey Sean,
    Thank you for your wonderful testimony. Please know that I will pray for you and your family to the One who “knows our frame and remembers that we are dust.” May healing, peace, and blessings be yours.
    Your friend, GL

  21. parrillaturi says:

    Hi Sean. Jesus Christ, the same yesterday, today, and forever. You can do all things through Christ who strengthens you. His grace is sufficient. My wife and I lift you up in prayer, with that assurance, that He not only hears our prayers, but also answers them. Be courageous, and rest on the Lord. He will not forsake you. We love you in the Lord. Blessings to you, and your loved ones.

  22. Hi Chameleon, this is Elaine and Andrew’s mom (Camp Gilgal West). Keeping you in prayer. I’m pretty sure you prayed for Elaine when she was battling cancer, this was her favorite verse Psalm 40:1-5. I like verse 3 the best.

  23. Dave Moran says:

    Hello Sean

    May the days be good to you:
    comforting more often than crazy and giving more often than taking.
    May the passing seasons make sure that any heartaches are replaced
    with a million smiles and that any hard journeys eventually turn into
    nice, easy miles that take you everywhere you want to go.
    May your dreams do their absolute best to come true.
    May your heart be filled with the kindness of friends, the caring of everyone
    you love, and the richness of memories you wouldn’t trade for anything.
    May lifes little worries always stay small. May you get a little closer every day
    to any goals you want to achieve.
    May any changes be good ones and any challenges turn out to be for the better.
    May you find time to do the things you’ve always wanted to do!
    And may you be happy… FOREVER.

    May god love and bless you always and for ever Sean

    Warm Anchors

    Dave Moran

  24. Janice Nicholls says:

    Keep strong and God bless.

    Janice

  25. Helen says:

    Hi Sean,
    I’ll be adding my prayers for you as well. Your strength is an inspiration.
    God Bless
    Helen

  26. Eamonn says:

    Prayers offered today from over the Altantic for a full recovery Sean. Keep fighting and smiling!

  27. Larry Silver says:

    Sean, the Lord loves you with an everlasting love and underneath are the everlasting arms. God is true. He has you. You are the apple of His eye. Trust in Him. He will deliver you from every evil attack and bring you safely into His Heavenly Kingdom. Pace yourself my brother…Sincerely in His Love, Larry

  28. Sean says:

    I seriously encourage you to seek alternative treatments as chemotherapy is almost a guaranteed death sentence and a costly one at that. My girlfriend had blood cancer as a child and was wasting away on chemo treatments until her doctor tried vitamin C injections which caused the cancer to go into remission.

  29. Carol Wilbanks, says:

    chemo does well in some situations and many have survived because of it. Why not contact Cancer treatment center of America in Texas? Praying the Great Physician will heal you

  30. Connie Reid says:

    Hi Sean:
    You don’t know me, but I’m a friend of Ralph Magnus and Bert Gearhart. I understand that you are married to Ralph’s granddaughter.

    First, I wanted to say that I was saddened to hear of your horrible news of cancer. Bert had given me your website, so I felt led to send you an email and, hopefully, offer some encouragement. I said a personal prayer for you and will continue to do so. I feel that your faith in God will carry you through these troublesome times. God is truly able to intervene in this situation and make you whole/complete again.

    I thought I would give a little background of my personal bouts with Cancer and how God has helped me through this battle and cope with this disease. I currently am classified as a Stage IV Cancer patient. I’ve actually had 3 cancers in my lifetime. The first was in 1994 when I was diagnosed with breast cancer. Thank God…with a lumpectomy and radiation, and with God’s intervention, I’ve been “Breast Cancer” free for these 19 years! However, the ole cancer thing hit me again in April 2009, at which time I was diagnosed with having Stage III Colon cancer. Went through the surgery and had chemo (FOLFOX) treatments for 5 months. Just when one wants to believe Cancer is completely gone, it showed its ugly face again. All during 2010, I was having CT Scans and PET tests to monitor activity within my body. In January 2012, I had to undergo a lung biopsy, since something representing cancer had shown in the latest PET test. Whammo, this time the Colon Cancer had metastasized to my left lung, and later to both lungs. Now, because of the metastases, I was reclassified as Stage IV. Thank God, I did not jump to the first recommendation from my Medical Doctor and a Thoracic Surgeon that suggested I forgo a biopsy and get 1/2 of my lung removed. Instead, as my Oncologist agreed, I chose to get a biopsy to determine if this really was cancer. I still thank God to this day that we made the right decision, as I will explain further.

    Following the biopsy in January 2012, I had to undergo 5 treatments of Stereotactic Body Radiation Therapy (SBRT). In SBRT, a delivery of a single high dose radiation is applied to the exact localization of the tumors. After that, I began more chemo through the entire year of 2012 through April 3 of this year (FOLFIRI; FOLFIRI with Avastin; and, ERBITUX and Irinotecan). Unfortunately, it was learned that I was allergic to the last medicine–the ERBITUX. I became hospitalized in April 2013 for 18 days with double pneumonia and was the sickest I have ever been in my life. My weight dropped to 85 pounds and I could barely walk long after my discharge.

    But, now the good news: GOD HAS BEEN WONDERFUL TO ME! My Oncologist and doctors are amazed at my progress. The Oncologist and the CT Scan reports indicate that I am “Stable.” I still have 6 tumors or nodules of concern (3 in each lung); 3 have dwindled a little and 3 are staying the same. I feel good, however, and it is wonderful that I am no longer taking any chemo treatments. I am on lung medications, however: Advair, Spirivia, and Albuterol. And, my oxygen level is sometimes at 98. Unbelievable, since many thought I would have to bring oxygen from the Hospital to my home. I can honestly say that I thank God for this progress. He has extended my life! While it is true that I will, most likely, be under a doctor’s care for quite some time, I feel that there has definitely been great progress.

    And, I feel that God can/will also bless you through this horrible diagnosis. It is very important that you do get more than one medical opinion. I will do as others have said on this webpage: I WILL PRAY FOR YOU, YOUR WIFE, AND FAMILY! It’s not an easy road and it is especially tough on the caregiver. Sometimes, I think it was even worse for my hubby than me.

    May God Bless You!
    Connie Reid

  31. Garth Hickey says:

    Dear Sean, I will pray for you now that you will be able to receive your complete healing as you are believing for total healing and deliverance from this oppression. I would like to encourage you with some scriptures to meditate on. Psm. 107:20; Prov.4:20-22; Psm. 103:1-3; Isa.53:4-5; I Pet. 2:24; Mk. 11:22-24; Lk. 6:38; Gals. 3:13,14,29 in conjunction with Deut.28:15- end of chapter and especially vs. 61. I would like to suggest to you,(and to any who are suffering with any sickness or disease of any kind, or to those who want to become equipped to share God’s Healing Word & Power with others), to get a copy of the book ‘Christ the Healer’ by. F.F. Bosworth. This book, within the first 5 yrs. of its original release back in the early 1900s, recorded over 225,000 healings and miracles just by reading the book. Multitudes have received their healing or miracle since then, just by reading and meditating on the truths in this book. A second excellent book to build your faith is a book by Jon G Lake entitled ‘Dominion over Demons, Death and Disease’. God Bless you Sean as you receive His Healing Word (Jn. 8:31-32; Rms.1:16) Sincerely, In Him, Garth Hickey

Leave a Reply

