Time to tell another great sea adventure of spear fishing.  It was 2008 and I was in Hawaii with my school on a spring break choir tour.  We were on Honolulu and I had done my research.  I could legal spear just about anything I could find minus turtles and some random small fish that I would never want to eat.

Anyways me and my roommates went out in the water.  I had my gun and my blind roommate had his pole spear.  Yes, I said my blind roommate had a pole spear.   Fear not.  The fish were small and there were plenty Humuhumunukunukuapua’a ‘s swimming around like they own the place, which by the way they do.  They are a breed of reef triggerfish which are highly territorial have a poisonous barb on the top of their heads and they happen to be the state fish.  Well I may have known this but my roommates did not.  One of them got really excited behind me as his made his first kill.  I turned around to see Hawaii’s favorite fish skewered at the end of his pole.  I quickly swam to him and informed him that he has killed Hawaii’s state fish.  I believe in eating what I kill, except if it will kill me to eat it, so we threw it in my goodie bag and kept going.

christmas rasp Reef-Triggerfish needlefish

We ended up hitting a few Christmas rasps, a yellow goat fish, and a needle fish, which by the way a lucky shot.  That night we ate them all, including the Humuhumunukunukuapua’a which tasted awful.  The only fish that tasted great was surprisingly the needle fish.

The next day I went out with another friend and we swam much further out looking for bigger fish.  While we were out we found a huge puffer fish which by the way are highly toxic to eat unless you are a master chef.  I had not plan to shoot the puffer but my friend insisted that he could cook the fish… ok whatever.  I shot the poor fellow and what was the size of a large basketball immediately became the size of an inflatable beach ball.  We ended up putting him in our hotel mini fridge until my friend would try to cook him.  A few days later he began to stink.

url34 Scan 2

College is an interesting time.  Instead of throwing the fish away we thought it would be a much better idea to drop the fish from our seven story hotel window into the street and video tape it.   Good plan right.  So we got the camera and I tossed the fish.  It landed on a bike and exploded all over the street.  Immediately, Japanese tourists rushed over to the fish to take pictures.  None of them bothered to look up and see several collage guys laughing historically.

Good times people. Good Times.

Sean Trank

About Sean Trank

My name is Sean Trank. I aspire to help those who want to succeed. I am a promoter of many things and I love making good ideas known. I also have a unique sense of humor that has been honed and shaped from having a Jewish Christian background...or maybe it is because my childhood house had lead-based paint. Ok so please explore this website .

One response »

  1. Chris says:

    Good memories! Fun!!

    Sent from my iPod

Leave a Reply

