Lifting-Weight

I weighed 173 lb in the spring and now I weigh 147 lb, ask me how I did it and I will tell you all my secrets.

I am not a big dieter or exercise fanatic and there is no program that I swear by that has given me miraculous results, however, I stopped worrying about it and everything changed.  In May I weighed out to 173 lbs and I kind of just accepted that it was my newlywed weight gain.  Sarah insisted we try to eat better meaning read every blog possible and buy expensive super foods that will make us skinny people.  So we tried some kale, blueberries, quinoa, beans, lentils, no bread, and stuff like that.  Eating these things gave me a lot of energy but I did not lose any weight I think I actually gained some muscle weight as a result.

Part of the problem was that eating out is a big part of our social lives, leading a community group, having friends, meeting new people, or just being lazy meant eating some delicious food in American sized portions.  So I attribute a lot of my weight gain to eating a lot of great food which makes sense.  I also attribute my lack of weight loss to my inactivity in my office.

So I needed to make two habit changes in order to get back to my healthy days.  So at the beginning of the summer a few of the men in the office decided to get active and play Basketball for an hour three times a week.  As I began to play I literally felt my heart and lungs get stronger and I began to feel less hungry after playing so if I needed to eat something I would blend up some fruit and spinach and a scoop of protein powder and that would be my meal.  During the summer I stopped weighing myself and began to play ball and eat right because I truly was having fun doing it.  I was not expecting to lose weight I just wanted to enjoy life and feel right.
fat kid skinny kid

Midsummer my pants stopped fitting and I had to start wearing a belt again.  My lovely stomach pudge was no longer noticeable and I felt much lighter on my feet as I continued to play.  In August I felt so good I could run circles around other players for days and still have energy to go all out.  Apparently my stomach shrank as I was satisfied with eating much smaller/normal sized portions… except on Shabbat 😉

Yesterday I weighed out at 147 lbs.  I lost 26 lbs over the summer doing what I love and not worrying about how I would lose weight.  I still order food with friend, family, and acquaintances but in mostly small portions which by the way will save you a ton of money.    I think it is very cool when I don’t have to obsess over these things and they have become a natural part of my life.  I use to do insanity trying to be fit and stay healthy but all that did was screw up my knees.  I discovered the best health plan ever, having fun with my friends at work and falling in love with food that is good for my body.   If you would like to join me and play basket ball please do.  If you want to know my secret smoothie recipe maybe I will share that on my next post.

How how you lost weight?  What is your secret?

Be Blessed
Sean

About Sean Trank

My name is Sean Trank. I aspire to help those who want to succeed. I am a promoter of many things and I love making good ideas known. I also have a unique sense of humor that has been honed and shaped from having a Jewish Christian background...or maybe it is because my childhood house had lead-based paint. Ok so please explore this website .

2 responses »

  1. For me it was cycling, instead of basketball, but it was finding (or rediscovering) something that I loved to do. Finding a way to eat that worked for both me and my wife certainly accelerated things, though.

  2. christine trank says:

    Good to hear!  I am leaving at 11:00 so if you need to talk with me call before that.  I called last night but your phone was off.

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

