A tinny book that makes you do uncomfortable things and challenges the way you live.   Thanks a lot Kurt.  

So I am a big promoter of people and things I find cool and interesting, which by the way are most times never books as I am dyslectic and reading is no walk in the park.  Kurt Libby approached me online about buying his new book and giving him raw honest feedback so here it goes.

I wasn’t able to finish the tiny little book, I am stuck staring at experiment 18 and it has been three months or more since I started.  I have a hard time moving on to something if I have not completed the first and besides the many distractions in life like work, church, eating, and sleeping I just got stuck reading certain challenges over and over waiting to hear from God and not being satisfied to move forward until I did.  Let me tell you, #LIVENEW is not easy.  Sure I was tempted to power through the simple short sentences to get to the end but what would be the point.  I needed to wrestle and die to make this work.  I needed to lose my own identity and become new in Christ.

Now as I am reflecting on my own progression of this material I have a few theories of why it was so difficult.  #LIVENEW is not something you should do alone.  I needed to process these concepts with other men and I was a lone wolf trying to conquer myself.  Accountability to others was missing and I definitely felt my own laziness let things slide once or twice or like a bunch of times.

I also honestly got distracted by the writer’s voice more than once.  If you know Kurt you know that he is a youth leader and he works with young people with crazy ADD and using sentences longer than three words goes over their heads.  I felt that the material was yelling (in love) at me a few times.  For example,

“…your view of the Holy Spirit (HS) is way too small. Way. Too. Small. Get over yourself. You aren’t able.  He is able. Period.”   Or “No more faking it.  This just got real.”

I guess I’m just use to reading C.S. Lewis’ never ending paragraphs and the literary use of short statements to graB my attention felt like over kill and I was distracted trying to figure out why I was being yelled at.
Throughout the book Holy Spirit was abbreviated to HS, which I always associate with Home School, so that was a slightly humorous distraction as well.

Anyways, I think if the book wants to speak more clearly to an audience out of High school it needs to lengthen the sentences or shift the statements into questions to be discussed.  Whatev.  It is still a good book.

I have definitely applied much of the teachings in developing good habits and I think the goal of the book was achieved and I will continue to wrestle through it.  I highly recommend this book and you can buy it by clicking the image.

61lZRKStefL._SL1360_

Be Blessed

Sean Trank

About Sean Trank

My name is Sean Trank. I aspire to help those who want to succeed. I am a promoter of many things and I love making good ideas known. I also have a unique sense of humor that has been honed and shaped from having a Jewish Christian background...or maybe it is because my childhood house had lead-based paint. Ok so please explore this website .

Leave a Reply

