Have you ever thought about social media etiquette… I certainly have not put to much thought into what is appropriate and what is a party foul when it comes to dos and don’ts of the social media world.

Every once in a while I like to promote things, actually I am constantly promoting a large quantity of things all the way from Parsha in 60 Seconds to Kosher Joe to Jews for Jesus to Will Rosenberg Art  to AMF to well the list goes on.  *Cough become a fan*

Well growing a fan base can be a trying task especially when you have so many things to share and most of the times people are not actually interested in what other people are sharing thanks to the spreading of narcissism among the internet.  Something I have been observing for a while now is that Maybe has become the new No.  Think about it, it is far safer for you to click maybe instead of no and with safer I mean it is less likely that your friends will be offended.  A few weeks ago I created an event for the launching of Parsha in 60 Seconds, a new show about each weeks Torah portion.  I invited all 4000+ of my collective friends and I immediately began receiving rejection notices…well rejection hurts but lukewarm is far worse because here are friends who are trying to skate by the directness of saying no.

Maybe you agree, do you think it is better to say no or be non-committal?

Here is the funny part about my situation, the event I set up was an online event in which I invited people to take 60 seconds out of their day and watch this video

and then click like and leave a comment yet still many friends clicked maybe.  Are you kidding?  Seriously, you thought saying maybe was a better option for the easiest event to ever participate in…  So I assume that these people who said maybe did not actually look at the event and they assumed that it was more polite to be non-committal.  Let’s be honest though, it is not more polite it mostly just show everyone how flaky and irresponsible you are and in my case people just look stupid for saying maybe to an online event.

Well there are plenty of new social media etiquette that can be spoken of on another time but next time you are going through your list of events that you have been invited to let your yes be yes and your no be no otherwise your going to look like a moron.

Be Blessed

Sean Trank

About Sean Trank

My name is Sean Trank. I aspire to help those who want to succeed. I am a promoter of many things and I love making good ideas known. I also have a unique sense of humor that has been honed and shaped from having a Jewish Christian background...or maybe it is because my childhood house had lead-based paint. Ok so please explore this website .

Leave a Reply

