In the world of online social media we are constantly competing for the attention of our audience.  Lets face it you have a great product and you can’t seem to get anyones attention with it so you begin looking for the cheap alternative like hiring a russian spammer to send a million emails out to random strangers who just might actually look at your product and decide they “like” it.

Save your money and time and listen to me and I will teach you how to promote your product in a way that will get you thousands if not millions of views.

I call it “The Three Cs and a P”

For this example I will use one of my latest products on YouTube called “Parsha in 60 Seconds” which is a program about the Jewish weekly Torah portion of which I summarize in 60 seconds.   I designed the program to be entertaining and educational for anyone interested in Judaism or in studying Torah.  My audience is a target of several million and I am competing against several other less entertaining Jewish channels who already have a following.

Community: 

Are you well connected in the social media world?  Do you have Facebook, YouTube, LinkedIn, Twitter, Reddit, Google+ and all the other social networks?  If not this is your foundation and you need to start building.  These are the places where people come to express their views on your product and to gather socially on the latest coolest things.  Optimizing these platforms may take a little creative time and effort, but it is necessary to build a successful fan base.  Once you have connected all these networks it is time to get the word out.  Most likely this is not your first time on facebook so you probably have a few friends who you may or may not ever talk to, well it is time to open up the floodgates of old high-school connections and add everyone you can.  The online world is a pond and you are throwing a stone (your product) in the pond to cause as many ripples as you can.  The more friends you have the larger your pond and the more ripples you will generate.  Word of mouth is your first priority so now let us move onto…

Communication:  

It is time to get the word out that you have the hottest new product and your friends will be the vessel that carries that product to the entire world.  One of my favorite ways of doing this is by launching an online event through Facebook.  When I first launched my fan page for Parsha in 60 Seconds I had less than 25 fans for a week.  I decided the best way to make my product know was by directly inviting my friends to be a part of my launch.  So I created an event that communicated the awesomeness of Parsha in 60 Seconds as well as my need for their support and all they had to do was “Like” and “Share” the fan page.  I then invited my 3000+ friends to the event and watched my fans more than double in an hour.  I have also discovered a new strategy of finding users on YouTube and sending messages inviting them to check out my show.  I have got a great response when messaging the right people.  I will warn you that messaging the wrong people will attract plenty of Trolls who will try and discourage you and put you down, but like my grandma use to tell me when I was three and getting out of the bathtub, “Be careful!”  It is important to remember to communicate through all the social networks even if it is a simple “Please watch my video” that is better than nothing.

Consistency:

So now you got maybe 100 fans and you get maybe 10 “likes” when you post but now it is time to cultivate and grow the fan base by being consistent in your posts.  Parsha in 60 Seconds only comes out once a week and once a week is like a year in social media time.  So in order to be consistent you are going to have to put on your thinking cap and come up with some engaging posts that will keep your fans coming back for more.  It is good to post between one to three times a day with enough time in between posts so that you do not annoy people.  I like to print up a calendar and schedule what I will  post on which days.  I like to ask my audience trivia questions about the new Parsha , this generates dialog and people tend to share these kind of posts.  Also if you are keen on photo shop, you can create info-graphics that are 400px x 400px with your question on it.

These colorful images get 100% more attention than any line of plain text.  They key is trying new things and then doing what you know works.

My last and final tip for you is Partnership:

Your competition may not actually be your competition it is OK to contact them and arrange promoting each others work once a week.  This builds good working relationships and is far more rewarding than being the lone wolf.

Well that is all today folks.  If you found this information helpful please “favorite” or “like” this blog and ,make sure you check out Parsha in 60 Seconds

I assure you that you will love the new show

 

Be Blessed

Sean Trank

About Sean Trank

My name is Sean Trank. I aspire to help those who want to succeed. I am a promoter of many things and I love making good ideas known. I also have a unique sense of humor that has been honed and shaped from having a Jewish Christian background...or maybe it is because my childhood house had lead-based paint. Ok so please explore this website .

One response »

  1. Great ideas Sean, thanks for all your helpful insight 🙂

Leave a Reply

