It is not fair…

We have all heard it or even said it.  If not from a kid with a early bedtime, then an old person reminiscing about taxes.  We all have a burning sense of justice and we long for the day our enemies will get what they deserve.  I felt this way last week after a friend of mine got robbed while sitting at the 21 bus stop four blocks from my house.  Four hoodlums surrounded him and after revealing their gun they politely asked him for his cash and cell phone.

Dang It!  Does it not drive you crazy when you hear these things?  Well I am obviously moved by this injustice against my friend.  I was so moved I immediately went on neighborhood watch with my trusty dive knife… just in case… though I did not find the culprits, I felt like I needed to try.

I was later asked what would I have done if I would have spotted them.  That is a tricky question and I had gone through a plethora of scenarios (some lethal some not) and it would all depend on so many factors that I don’t have just one answer.

My whole life I have felt a strong sense of right and wrong and this incident reminded me of a few spiritual truths that we should all be reminded of.

“Vengeance is mine … says the Lord” Romans 12:19.  This does not mean we allow injustice to take place and then hope God deals with it.  It means we need to look at our motivation and to look at injustice in a new light.  The truth is we are all violators of justice.  Those four guys can make up as many excuses they want, we need the money, he does not deserve his cash and phone, we are the victims and we are robbing the rich to feed the poor, none of these will fly on judgment day.  And we all do the same thing.

So the next time you feel the sting of injustice think about all the injustice you commit in your own life.  No more excuses before God.

So what do you think about justice?  Do we have rights?  Should we all be pacifists?  Or something else?

Be Blessed

Sean Trank

About Sean Trank

My name is Sean Trank. I aspire to help those who want to succeed. I am a promoter of many things and I love making good ideas known. I also have a unique sense of humor that has been honed and shaped from having a Jewish Christian background...or maybe it is because my childhood house had lead-based paint. Ok so please explore this website .

Leave a Reply

