I have just finished listening to the third audio book of the series The Hunger Games. I can see how this narrative can really become addicting. The story-telling has a very classic Greek mythology feel, which the author admits to at the end of the book in her reflections. If you know this style, you will know that there is no happy ever after; all Greek heroes are tragic. In Jason and the Argonauts our hero finds the Golden Fleece with the help of the beautiful but fierce princess Medea, who becomes his wife and mother of his two children. But this is not the end of Jason’s story. Greeks have a way of displaying the pessimistic and realistic side to a story because the reality is that bad things happen to everybody. Why should heroes have it any other way, right? It isn’t long before Jason loses interest in Medea and leaves her to marry another princess in order to form an alliance with the King of Corinth. Long dramatic story made short: Medea flips out, kills her own kids and a ton of other people, and Jason’s life is brought to ruin just like Medea’s. Greek tragedies never end well.

Okay, back to The Hunger Games. You are Katniss Everdeen. You live in a post-apocalyptic state in North America and you are a part of a dictatorship/caste system broken down into twelve districts. (There used to be thirteen districts but one of them rebelled and was destroyed.) In order to keep people from rebelling again, a bizarre form of entertainment is created in which kids fight in an arena to the death, one boy and one girl from each district, 24 in all. So, just like the Romans, we have the Colosseum where brutal violence was part of entertainment as well as discipline.

As the story unfolds, you quickly see a doomed world in which control is the main issue. The Hunger Games themselves are just a metaphor that people are always in the arena and the game is never over. Whether your role is surviving, attacking, defending, or protecting, you are still a playing piece in this massive game of life and no matter what, you will eventually lose.

The participants are left with the final understanding that you must make the best of what you are given and keep playing the game.  But “Do your best” is never good enough and so how can we be satisfied with this answer? Katniss was not satisfied either; she was waiting for a savior, but that never happened in her world.

Thank God, in our world a Messiah and Savior has come and he is the ultimate game designer, “For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him” (John 3:17). Think about it—the reason the world is so grim and lethal is because we have given into our sins. This arena we live in is full of traps, love of money, sexual identity confusion, idolatry, greed, immorality, and self-indulgence. You name it, we as a society have done it. On a personal level, we make excuses for ourselves and point at the greater sinners in the world, but the reality is that whether it’s a big sin or a little sin,  “all have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God” (Romans 3:23).

But God cares about us and is not willing to let us go on in our misery and self-destruction, He offers us real hope. President Snow recognized that “The only thing greater than fear is hope.” He also recognized that “A little bit of hope is good. Too much hope is dangerous” to his maintaining control.

God doesn’t want to control you — He wants to fill you with hope and show you how much he loves you.  That’s why he sent his one and only Son to die for our sins and to restore us to himself.

Jesus stepped into the Hunger Games of our lives, challenging the status quo.  By carrying the weight of all our sins on his shoulders, he took sin to the grave. Finally, he broke free from death itself enabling us “in his power” to be victorious in the game of life. All we have to do is trust in His sacrifice for us.

With Jesus, the odds of eternal life are always in your favor. Don’t give up hope and don’t fear. Rebel against the world system and ask Jesus to save you from your sins.

Be Blessed

Sean Trank

About Sean Trank

My name is Sean Trank. I aspire to help those who want to succeed. I am a promoter of many things and I love making good ideas known. I also have a unique sense of humor that has been honed and shaped from having a Jewish Christian background...or maybe it is because my childhood house had lead-based paint. Ok so please explore this website .

4 responses »

  1. Linda DeRosa says:

    I’ve avoided everything to do with the Hunger Games and yours is the first insight I’ve read at all. I’ll probably still leave it somewhere at the bottom of my list of things to read or see. This is the first time I’ve been on your website. I appreciate your perspective.

  2. Good blog Sean. Saw the film but was not enamoured by it. Same old. Same old. However, I liked your take on the film which I liked better than the film. Interesting. Maybe I’ll see it again. Happy Passover and Resurrection Day!

  3. I had actually never even heard of the movie or books before the first trailer, Even then, it didn’t really spark my interest. I did go see it opening night, but only because a friend invited me and I just wanted to get out of the house. I was expecting just some mediocre movie, even by the world’s standards. I have to admit, I liked the move more than I expected. Not for the reasons it’s popular though. I keep hearing people talking about the game itself, and the killing. For me, that was the side issue. The greater part of the story was the vision of what happens when a government gets too big and has too much control over the people. The sin in man will always abuse any power given to him. I see this story as a parallel to what we’re looking at both in America, and the world at large. It made me think about what’s happening in our world and how we’re heading in that direction. Now ultimately, I agree with Romans 13, and that if any government of the world got to that point, it would be by the divine hand of God. Even more so, we deserve to be enslaved because of our sin. So if we do end up there, we really can’t say it’s unfair. All we can do is look to Jesus and know that it’s only temporary. Eventually, I will be with Him. That is where my hope lies.

  4. Christy says:

    I’ve read books 1 and 2 and they are very well written with great imagination. They bother me on the level that human beings, especially young humans, are pampered and prepared for their death in the Games. No one seems to care that the part they are playing is to help the characters die or to kill others.
    The second book reveals more about the human nature to not only survive but to change things so that no one else ever goes through such horrible “games”. A willingness to die for another is evident in book 2 and very redeeming.
    I have not fully made up my mind to see the movie because as I read the books, I have a very graphic picture of what is happening as it is. I don’t know if it is necessary to see the movie and carry the images with me forever.
    I like what the article from Rose in Jews for Jesus wrote and since I teach Sr. High kids at church, I am going to use her words to turn this into a worthwhile discussion in class.
    All I can say is….wake up America! This could be your future. Not mine because I have a Home Beyond the River!

Leave a Reply

