EASTER VS PASSOVER

 Easter From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia This article is about the Christian festival. For secular uses, see Easter customs and Ēostre.  of the Exodus

This seems to be the time of year when people get confused about who celebrates what and why. I grew up in the middle of all that confusion and have dealt with both sides of the question. As a Jew I am constantly asked by Gentile (Non-Jewish) followers of Jesus if I celebrate Easter or Passover, as if it is one or the other. I respond in my head, “Do you even read the Bible?!”  But outside of my head I take a deep breath and prepare my speech using all the Christianese I can so that my ignorant questioner might understand that Jesus is Jewish and that there is no contest between the traditions. Quite the contrary—Jesus is in fact the Passover lamb that was given by God to save the Jewish people and the rest of the world. They follow up with the question, “Then why do Jews wear those funny hats?”  (My eyes widen slightly, one eyebrow slightly elevates.) I change the subject by asking, “What’s up with Lent? When did that become biblical?”

On the other hand, I meet Jewish people who think Passover is just about eating food and spending time with family. Many people today don’t even mention God during the seder (traditional meal).  When I try to explain to them how Jesus is a part of Passover, they don’t even know what the Tanach (Hebrew Scriptures) says about Passover. The ignorance is incredible. I cringe when I hear assumptions from both sides that are absolutely false and have no basis in Scripture.

I always challenge those who earnestly want to learn to come to a Jews for Jesus Passover Banquet. This group seder is great at explaining Scripture and showing clearly the parallel of Jesus as the Passover Lamb.

That is why I am personally inviting you to come to a banquet this year in 2012. Make sure you RSVP and tell a friend who needs to learn.

Be Blessed,

Sean Trank

Passover Banquet

Passover Banquet

Jews for Jesus Invites You to Join Us for Passover

Come celebrate God’s redemption, then and now! Passover showcases our God as the Bondage Breaker. He wants us to remember how He delivered the children of Israel from bondage in Egypt and how He is still delivering children of every nation from the bondage of sin today.

God, the Master Teacher, designed the perfect plan to remind us of His redemption: the annual meal to commemorate that first Passover night. This ceremonial dinner continues to reach people generation after generation. In the Passover celebration we can reflect on all that God has done for us through Jesus, the Lamb of God, who celebrated Passover in what is commonly known as “the Last Supper.” We invite you to celebrate Passover with us. Come and feast with us either for a full course dinner (limited locations below) or at a presentation in your area (check to see if we’re in driving distance from your home). We think you’ll remember this as one of the most meaningful and joyous holiday celebrations ever.

Passover Banquets:

These are full course dinners including a presenter and Jewish gospel music and require reservations in advance.

Date Title Venue City Type
Monday, Mar 25, 2013 
6:30PM
Los Angeles Passover Banquet – West Los Angeles West Los Angeles Passover Banquets
Monday, Mar 25, 2013 
7:00PM
Sydney Passover Banquet – Ryde Ryde Passover Banquets
Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 
7:00PM
Washinton D.C. Passover Banquet – Vienna Vienna Passover Banquets
Monday, Apr 01, 2013 
6:30PM
Florida Passover Banquet – Coral Springs Coral Springs Passover Banquets
Monday, Apr 01, 2013 
6:30PM
San Francisco Passover Banquet – North Bay San Rafael Passover Banquets
Monday, Apr 01, 2013 
6:30PM
San Francisco Passover Banquet – South Bay Sunnyvale Passover Banquets
Monday, Apr 01, 2013 
7:00PM
Washington DC Passover Baquet – Silver Spring Silver Spring Passover Banquets
Monday, Apr 01, 2013 
7:00PM
New York Passover Banquet – Brooklyn Brooklyn Passover Banquets
Tuesday, Apr 02, 2013 
6:00PM
Arizona Passover Banquet – Phoenix Phoenix Passover Banquets
Tuesday, Apr 02, 2013 
7:00PM
Chicago Passover Banquet – Skokie Skokie Passover Banquets
Tuesday, Apr 02, 2013 
7:00PM
New York Passover Banquet – Manhattan New York Passover Banquets
About Sean Trank

My name is Sean Trank. I aspire to help those who want to succeed. I am a promoter of many things and I love making good ideas known. I also have a unique sense of humor that has been honed and shaped from having a Jewish Christian background...or maybe it is because my childhood house had lead-based paint. Ok so please explore this website .

51 responses »

  1. Valerie Bond says:

    Hey I see there isn’t a Passover Banquet in Oregon, Will you be posting an how to article “Passover for Dummy Gentiles” (I think your sarcasm and humor match mine)

    • Sean Trank says:

      I’m never sarcastic… 😉 As a matter of fact there is a Passover banquet in Oregon I will pass your contact info onto my friend who is organizing them. Be Blessed

  2. Glen says:

    The most important ingredients of the Passover meal are wine and unleavened bread.. Luke 22:14-20. The Passover meal and the Lord’s Supper are very difficult to separate. The Feast of Passover was a shadow of the Lord’s Supper. Just as the blood of the lamb on the doorposts delivered the firstborn of the Israelites from the death angel, so the blood of Jesus delivers the Israelites and all of mankind from sin and death. The unleavened bread of Passover represented the deliverance and hasty departure from Egypt. The unleavened bread of the Lord’s Supper represents the body of Jesus which was the perfect lamb without spot or blemish which paid the price of our sin. Passover or the Lord’s Supper may be celebrated as one as long as the unleavened bread and wine are taken sacredly in remembrance of what Jesus did for us on the cross. In Luke 22:16 Jesus longs to celebrat Passover again with us in Heaven. In the Kingdom of God , people of all ages who had faith that Jesus is the true Messiah will have fellowship with Jesus at the Marriage Supper of the Lamb. Rev. 19:9

  3. acgheen says:

    Howdy Sean! I’m a gentile believer with a background in Old Testament Theology and can appreciate some of your frustration. It amazes me how often the Church forgets that we worship the Jewish Messiah! (I actually wrote my Master’s Thesis on “Early Christian Anti-Semitism and It’s Effects Upon the Liturgy and Theology of the Church”.) Some of the best times I’ve ever had have been spent introducing fellow believers to our Jewish roots. I would even argue that, without a comprehension of ancient Judaism, you miss much of the richness of the New Testament – as though you’ve begun reading the story mid-way through! While I didn’t see a meal listed for Idaho, I’ll be in prayer for those taking place elsewhere.

  4. L says:

    Thank you!

    Do you know if there is something similar in Memphis, Tennessee?

  5. Carol L. Bedard-Nelson says:

    We have attended Passover seders since the mid 90s. Look at Matthew 5:17-21. I believe we are still to celebrate all of the biblical holidays. So far my husband and I have gotten the hang og all the spring holidays, but the fall holidays…I’d like to, but where around Rockford, Illinois would we be welcome for the Feast of Tabernacles?

    • Ruth Kinney says:

      Hi Carol,
      I found your message from 3-20-12 about keeping the fall feast around Rockford, IL. I’ve been a sabbath and holy day keeper all my life. I live just north of Rockford. Find me on Facebook (ruthharrarkinney). It might be nice to connect.

  6. Sonrose Rutledge Jr. says:

    In looking at all the different dates in different cities you will be supposedly celebrating the LORDS Passover, I wonder how can this be? when the Holy Bible {KJB} tells us that the Passover is a memorial of the death of the Passover lamb which was celebrated only on one date, a memorial forever, on the night of Abib/Nisan 14th . This year 2012 will be sundown Nisan 13th our Thursday April 5, 2012. {Lev. 23:5, Ex.12:1-8, 12-14, 13:8-10}, The New Testament Passover Lamb Jesus Christ who died for the sins of the whole world {1 Corin.5:7-8} was asked to be done by us in remembrance of Jesus death, who died only once, Nisan 14th.
    Any service done contrary to this date and time is really not the true Passover that Jesus set up. And any service that does not include the service of humility commanded by Jesus as part of the sacred service {John 13:4-17} is not the true Passover either.
    Comments welcome,

    In His Service, Sincerely,
    Brother S. Rutledge Jr.

    • Sean Trank says:

      Passover is more than one day, it celebrates the entire process of of God delivering the Jewish people out of Egypt.

      Exodus 23:15
      King James Version (KJV)
      15Thou shalt keep the feast of unleavened bread: (thou shalt eat unleavened bread seven days, as I commanded thee, in the time appointed of the month Abib; for in it thou camest out from Egypt: and none shall appear before me empty:)

      Leviticus 23:4-8
      King James Version (KJV)
      4These are the feasts of the LORD, even holy convocations, which ye shall proclaim in their seasons.

      5In the fourteenth day of the first month at even is the LORD’s passover.

      6And on the fifteenth day of the same month is the feast of unleavened bread unto the LORD: seven days ye must eat unleavened bread.

      7In the first day ye shall have an holy convocation: ye shall do no servile work therein.

      8But ye shall offer an offering made by fire unto the LORD seven days: in the seventh day is an holy convocation: ye shall do no servile work therein.

      FYI other translations of scripture are just as valid, with possible exception being “the message”

  7. Reblogged this on American Rhoades and commented:
    I think that this is well worth a read for many of Liberty’s friends. I was blessed to witness a presentation by Jews for Jesus many years ago which detailed the symbolism in Passover that foreshadow the coming of Christ. I have often wondered why early Christians gave up celebrating Jewish holidays and traditions; obviously, Jesus was Jewish and he celebrated them, so why not his followers, regardless of Jew or Gentile?

    • Sean Trank says:

      As Christianity spread further into the Gentile world a spiritual wall began to form between Jewish and Gentile followers. The identity of the Church became primarily Gentile and in doing so the Church leaders began developing new traditions because of an us vs them mentality that had developed between Jews and Christians. If you study early church history you can see how new holidays were made to replace Jewish holidays as well as pagan holidays. The problem has always been the same, ignorance. When we fail to learn the truth we get trapped in false ideas and forget where we came from. Just like today there are many “Christians” who think they are “Christians” because they were born into a “Christian” family. We know this is not true, unless you are born again you will not enter the kingdom of heaven. The point isn’t which traditions we decide to keep. The point is where do our heart abide. If they are in Jesus then, Therefore no one is to act as your judge in regard to food or drink or in respect to a festival or a new moon or a Sabbath day–Colossians 2:16

  8. Aklilu says:

    Good to know the difference between Easter and Passover. Is there any event at Denver Co?
    I’m living there!!!

  9. ruizsainz says:

    Indeed. The Lord God The Son Jesus Christ is Himself the Sacrificial Passover Lamb of God The Father who died for our sins. Moses ordered that the lamb’s blood be spattered on the wooden door sills of the egyptian hebrew slaves in the shape of a Tau. On the original Friday of Holy Week the Blood of Christ was spattered on the wooden cross of the Crucifixion for He took upon Himself the Punishment that we deserved.

    Isaiah LIII.

    [1] Who hath believed our report? and to whom is the arm of the Lord revealed? [2] And he shall grow up as a tender plant before him, and as a root out of a thirsty ground: there is no beauty in him, nor comeliness: and we have seen him, and there was no sightliness, that we should be desirous of him: [3] Despised, and the most abject of men, a man of sorrows, and acquainted with infirmity: and his look was as it were hidden and despised, whereupon we esteemed him not. [4] Surely he hath borne our infirmities and carried our sorrows: and we have thought him as it were a leper, and as one struck by God and afflicted. [5] But he was wounded for our iniquities, he was bruised for our sins: the chastisement of our peace was upon him, and by his bruises we are healed.

    [6] All we like sheep have gone astray, every one hath turned aside into his own way: and the Lord hath laid on him the iniquity of us all. [7] He was offered because it was his own will, and he opened not his mouth: he shall be led as a sheep to the slaughter, and shall be dumb as a lamb before his shearer, and he shall not open his mouth. [8] He was taken away from distress, and from judgment: who shall declare his generation? because he is cut off out of the land of the living: for the wickedness of my people have I struck him. [9] And he shall give the ungodly for his burial, and the rich for his death: because he hath done no iniquity, neither was there deceit in his mouth. [10] And the Lord was pleased to bruise him in infirmity: if he shall lay down his life for sin, he shall see a long-lived seed, and the will of the Lord shall be prosperous in his hand.

    [11] Because his soul hath laboured, he shall see and be filled: by his knowledge shall this my just servant justify many, and he shall bear their iniquities. [12] Therefore will I distribute to him very many, and he shall divide the spoils of the strong, because he hath delivered his soul unto death, and was reputed with the wicked: and he hath borne the sins of many, and hath prayed for the transgressors.

    Psalm XXI.

    O God my God, look upon me: why hast thou forsaken me? Far from my salvation are the words of my sins. [3] O my God, I shall cry by day, and thou wilt not hear: and by night, and it shall not be reputed as folly in me. [4] But thou dwellest in the holy place, the praise of Israel. [5] In thee have our fathers hoped: they have hoped, and thou hast delivered them.

    [2] The words of my sins: That is, the sins of the world, which I have taken upon myself, cry out against me, and are the cause of all my sufferings.

    [6] They cried to thee, and they were saved: they trusted in thee, and were not confounded. [7] But I am a worm, and no man: the reproach of men, and the outcast of the people. [8] All they that saw me have laughed me to scorn: they have spoken with the lips, and wagged the head. [9] He hoped in the Lord, let him deliver him: let him save him, seeing he delighteth in him. [10] For thou art he that hast drawn me out of the womb: my hope from the breasts of my mother.

    [11] I was cast upon thee from the womb. From my mother’s womb thou art my God, [12] Depart not from me. For tribulation is very near: for there is none to help me. [13] Many calves have surrounded me: fat bulls have besieged me. [14] They have opened their mouths against me, as a lion ravening and roaring. [15] I am poured out like water; and all my bones are scattered. My heart is become like wax melting in the midst of my bowels.

    [16] My strength is dried up like a potsherd, and my tongue hath cleaved to my jaws: and thou hast brought me down into the dust of death. [17] For many dogs have encompassed me: the council of the malignant hath besieged me. They have pierced my hands and feet. [18] They have numbered all my bones. And they have looked and stared upon me. [19] They parted my garments amongst them; and upon my vesture they cast lots. [20] But thou, O Lord, remove not thy help to a distance from me; look towards my defence.

    [21] Deliver, O God, my soul from the sword: my only one from the hand of the dog. [22] Save me from the lion’s mouth; and my lowness from the horns of the unicorns. [23] I will declare thy name to my brethren: in the midst of the church will I praise thee. [24] Ye that fear the Lord, praise him: all ye the seed of Jacob, glorify him. [25] Let all the seed of Israel fear him: because he hath not slighted nor despised the supplication of the poor man. Neither hath he turned away his face from me: and when I cried to him he heard me.

    [26] With thee is my praise in a great church: I will pay my vows in the sight of them that fear him. [27] The poor shall eat and shall be filled: and they shall praise the Lord that seek him: their hearts shall live for ever and ever. [28] All the ends of the earth shall remember, and shall be converted to the Lord: And all the kindreds of the Gentiles shall adore in his sight. [29] For the kingdom is the Lord’s; and he shall have dominion over the nations. [30] All the fat ones of the earth have eaten and have adored: all they that go down to the earth shall fall before him.

    [31] And to him my soul shall live: and my seed shall serve him. [32] There shall be declared to the Lord a generation to come: and the heavens shall shew forth his justice to a people that shall be born, which the Lord hath made.

  10. Debby says:

    love the information! thanks for passing it on. happy Passover & happy Easter! 🙂

  11. ruizsainz says:

    Adam walked with Him in the afternoons. Moses spoke to Him face to face seated on the cherubims and saw His shoulders as He passed by. Abraham bowed to Him and called Him “Lord”. Abraham saw Him 2500 years in advance preaching in Jerusalem. Isaiah saw Him seated on His Throne. St. John reclined his head on His chest. He will be with us in Person in a few more years.

  12. Terry Hefty says:

    Is there anything going on in Bakersfield California????

  13. Emmanuel Tabones says:

    Actually, “Lent” is biblical in that it is based on (as far as I know) on what is described in Mt 4:1-11, when Jesus “fasted for 40 days and 40 nights.”

  14. “There are many things you do not understand but I will send you the Paraclete and He will teach you all things.” And that’s what He did during those 2000 years you are missing, Sean.

  15. In Church history check out the purely divine, the divine-human and the purely human. You have a lot to learn

  16. Dear Sean. Of course we can talk. All I’m saying is that if you read the Summa, our conversation can be even better.

    • Sean Trank says:

      Are you implying that scripture is not enough and that we should be relying on more outside texts than what is in the word of God?

      • Dear Sean. Scripture is the Word of God. But we humans do not all have the same intelligence and capacity of understanding. St. Thomas is one of the most intelligent men who ever lived. We need his explanation of Scripture texts hard to understand correctly.

      • Sean Trank says:

        I disagree that we need St Thomas expertise, though I do not disagree with his expertise. You are right Thomas did those who know little about faith, God, and Jesus Christ, a great service by providing basic teachings in the Summa, however these teachings are found in scripture. The danger in relying on Thomas is that we may neglect the Word of God and in a sense we never move on from milk to meat in teaching. Also It is highly important to Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; We must rely on the Spirit of Truth to confirm what is true. Do you understand what I am saying?

  17. I agree with you that ultimately our conscience is our final subjective individual judge. However, let’s be objective. Many times have I thought something to be true and by checking out the great minds out there -St. Augustine or St. Thomas for example- I was able to rectify many of my own personal subjective errors. Besides… there is no contradiction between the Holy Bible and the great catholic thinkers of times gone by.

    • Another thing, Sean.

      I’m a sinner and St. Thomas was not. This is why he got gifts from heaven, such as this one:

      “When he was writing his commentary on Isaiah, St. Thomas had been engrossed and troubled for days over the interpretation of a particular text. Finally, one night when he had stayed up to pray, Friar Reginald overhead him speaking with other persons in the room although he could not make out the words or recognize the other voices. Then all fell silent, and he heard his master’s voice calling, “Friar Reginald, get up and bring a light and the commentary on Isaiah. I want you to write for me.” So Friar Reginald rose and began to take down the dictation, which ran so clearly, he later testified, that is was as if the master was reading aloud from a book under his eyes. Pressed by Friar Reginald for the names of his mysterious companions, St. Thomas finally replied that St. Peter and St. Paul had been sent to him, “and told me all I needed to know.” “

      • acgheen says:

        Wulfranoruizsainz, Just out of curiosity, if you can’t trust yourself to objectively understand Scripture as given by a sinless God, how can you be certain that you are capable of objectively understanding the writing of a sinless saint?

      • Valerie says:

        I thought we had all sinned and fallen short of the glory of God?

      • acgheen says:

        Valerie, I agree entirely. 1 John 1:8 even goes so far as to declare that, “If we say we have no sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us.” I chose to address the argument on the level that I did, because the belief that one can objectively interpret one set of “sinless” writings, but not another is internally inconsistent. (I figured Sean would deal with the Scriptural inconsistency, himself.)

      • Sean Trank says:

        Ok, so this where our understandings differ. First off, the only person who ever lived sinless was Jesus. For all have sinned and fallen short of the Glory of God. Romans 3:23 St. Thomas is not spotless if he was we would not need Jesus and we should all be trying to attain perfection as Thomas did. Second, St. Peter and St. Paul’s spirits were not sent to Thomas if anything it was the Holy Spirit who gave both Peter and Paul the same inspiration to write their books which are the word of God, if that is indeed what happened. Third, whats with you worshiping saints, we are all saints having been sanctified by the blood of Christ “But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people belonging to God, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light.” 1 Peter 2:9 Jesus came to break us free from this hierarchy of assumed Holiness that the religious Jews had formulated, why are we so compelled to dive right back into that prison? No good deed is accredited to us “All of us have become like one who is unclean, and all our righteous acts are like filthy rags; we all shrivel up like a leaf, and like the wind our sins sweep us away.” Isaiah 64:6

        This brings me back to the original point in that Lent is man made and and there is nothing in the Canonized scriptures that dictate our keeping of it as opposed to Exodus 12 in which God commands us to remember the Passover and later gives detailed instructions on what we are to do. I am not saying that Lent is bad on the contrary it is a great discipline and can give great devotion to God. However, many people treat it like a command and expect others who are not of their traditions to hold to it as well. This is in violation of Colossians 2:16 Therefore do not let anyone judge you by what you eat or drink, or with regard to a religious festival, a New Moon celebration or a Sabbath day.

    • Catholicism is contradiction by itself. augustine, Thomas even marry, we honor as chosen ones, but Jesus is the beginning and the end, Jesus is the lion and the lamb,Jesus is the king of kings and the lord of lords. there is only one true book of life.

  18. Dear Sean. There are two types of sin: mortal and venial. St. Thomas had many venial sins but not one mortal. Read his biography. Lent is a period of mourning and of preparation for the Passion of Christ. I do not worship saints in Heaven… I envy them.

    • Sean Trank says:

      Two types of sin? Is this according to scripture or according to man? Where is scripture does it define these types of sin? Also why would you “envy” the saints? envy is a sin. (See Galatians 5:19-21) I would be very careful of treating these extra-biblical sources as if they are biblical. If a theological idea cannot be validated through the scriptures or contradicts scripture than it may be false teaching. Reading into something that is not there is a very dangerous thing. Revelation 22:18-19 “For I testify to everyone who hears the words of the prophecy of this book: If anyone adds to these things, God will add to him the plagues that are written in this book; and if anyone takes away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God shall take away his part from the Book of Life, from the holy city, and from the things which are written in this book.”

  19. cubalibre says:

    FYI
    From 1John 5:14-17 And this is the confidence which we have in him, that if we ask anything accordig to his will he hears us. And if we know that he hears us in whatever we ask, we know that we have obtained the requests made of him. If any one sees his brother committing what is not a mortal sin, he will ask, and God will give him life for those whose sin is not mortal. There is a sin which is mortal; I do not say that one is to pray for that. All wrongdoing is sin, but there is sin which is not mortal.

  20. ruizsainz says:

    Dear Sean: Just remember that the Old Testament is full of promises. And that the New Testament and 2000 years of Catholic Church history is their fulfillment.

Leave a Reply

