All humans deal with temptation every day.  We see what we think is good for us and we decide to act on what feels right.  Go back to the very beginning, Genesis lets say… the first temptation was as simple as a fruit on a tree.  Not exactly meriting death… many today argue God as being unfair, yet Adam and Eve were only given one rule to keep and they were warned of the harsh consequence for eating the fruit.  So fairness is debatable.  Not the point though.

When I was a kid I use to think, really a fruit?  How hard is that?  It wasn’t long until I realized how hard temptation really is.  You see when I was about 6 years old I was at the grocery store with my mom and while she was checking out I was checking out the candy.  I saw exactly what looked good to me and I asked my mom if she would get it for me.  She said I could save some money and get it myself.  I was frustrated, I saw no reason why I shouldn’t have what I wanted when I wanted.  So I opened the package and I took a piece of gum.  My eyes were opened and I soon learned good from evil… I could not even enjoy the gum I felt so guilty.  My mom quickly figured out what I had done and I was on time out and had to go apologize to the store manager.

I disobeyed my parent and took something that did not belong to me.  These are very basic sins and even more subtle temptations.  That is the thing with temptation, they are absolutely subtle and many people shrug it off as basic human desires.  God made me this way I might as well go all the way, right?  Or I bit the apple might as well eat the whole thing?  These are lies from the same liar in the Garden of Eden, Satan.  He wants to utterly destroy you and keep you far from God.

There are things God has created for us that He has given specific instructions.  Specifically sexuality can both heal and destroy.  God gave us something so absolutely beautiful and when respected and honored it is absolutely amazing.  However, unrespected it is like fire outside of a fire place that soon becomes uncontrolled and destructive.  It leaves devastation, brokenness, uncertainty, and a whole lot more.

Take a look at the world and we all know that things are not they way they were meant to be.  But that is exactly what Jesus came here to do.  Jesus reconciles all things to God if you let Him.  So if your choking on the core of the fruit, don’t think you have to finish the sin you have started because like Jesus said while he died on the cross, “It is finished.”  Allow Jesus to resuscitate you from your own harmful will and feel true shalom for the first time since Genesis.  God loves you and what’s to save you.

Be Blessed

Sean Trank

About Sean Trank

My name is Sean Trank. I aspire to help those who want to succeed. I am a promoter of many things and I love making good ideas known. I also have a unique sense of humor that has been honed and shaped from having a Jewish Christian background...or maybe it is because my childhood house had lead-based paint. Ok so please explore this website .

One response »

  1. I enjoyed this post. It’s often when we’re indulging temptation a little, perhaps watching a film we shouldn’t or lying in a small way, that we start to think “I’d better stick to my guns, I’ve come this far, no point making it worse”. Sadly, God recognises that these moments when we can choose to stop sinning are actually just as important, and we can go some way to showing God our desire to honour him by immediately repenting. I wish I had made the right choices more often!

    God bless,
    Pete.

Leave a Reply

