What a great story.  Often times I do judge a book by it’s cover.  Just the first artistic glimpse of the cover art is enough to get me to read this book and that is saying something because I am dyslectic and hate reading.  The author uses a highly descriptive and personified language that makes everything come to life.   In the first opening paragraph we see that the sea itself is a character in this story and has a will of it’s own.  Though many of the themes and characters seem to be inspired by the more modern pirate franchise we get a completely fresh story with a nice mix of characters that one would expect to find on a ship.

I found the spiritual aspect of the book also very intriguing, while most authors I have read are more cautious in communicating strong religious themes, Schafer clearly has no fear in speaking of faith.  I am not a historian and do not know how prominent Catholics were in the Caribbean but this story is strongly pointed with priests, rosary beads, hail marys, and liturgy.

The language of the book is easy to read with a nice mix of nautical vocabulary that continually makes me look up words on my Droid.  So A+ for learning.  The conversational structure seems almost like a screen play… I wonder why?  I would not be surprised if the producers of Pirates of the Caribbean picked up this book and thought, hmm Pirates 5?  Yes please.

The only thing that I get tripped up on are the name of the main character Captain Bret, maybe because I feel that one-syllable names are pretty weak.  Like my name Sean, when would you ever find a ship with Captain Sean?  I don’t know.  Bret is the guy from Flight of the Concords, not Captain of the Treyal…just my opinion.  It is a good thing Captain Bret has an awesome last name Del La Cosa, boom.  I guess with a last name like that any first name seems tough.  The transition of Bret becoming Captain seems unexplained and maybe to early.  Bret’s relationship with the cook seems a little childish and too public, which makes me uncomfortable whenever they speak.

This book does not wait for action or hold back on mercy to the characters.  Soon after developing a strong Pathos for the friends of Bret they are utterly destroyed as Davy Jones has other plans for Bret.  We are then launched into a dead new world that defies gravity… literally gravity is all out of whack in Davy Jones locker.  I love the time theory of the locker it is very Narnia like, but with less children.  This part of Bret’s adventure is the most exciting as the mysteries of the locker are revealed.  Bret is being hunted by pretty much everyone because of strange religious beliefs that have been formed by city of the dead.  At the end of every chapter you wonder, will Bret survive?  Well he escape the locker? Will he see his fiancee again?  I can’t tell you… you’re just gonna have to buy the book for  $9.99 on Amazon and read it for yourself.

The book is very entertaining and fun, can’t wait till the movie comes out 😉

 

Be Blessed

 

Sean Trank

About Sean Trank

My name is Sean Trank. I aspire to help those who want to succeed. I am a promoter of many things and I love making good ideas known. I also have a unique sense of humor that has been honed and shaped from having a Jewish Christian background...or maybe it is because my childhood house had lead-based paint. Ok so please explore this website .

Leave a Reply

