This morning I read an article about Jaime Gonzalez, an eighth-grade student in a middle school who got shot by the cops because he brought a air pistol to school.  After firing it at a student, campus security called 911.

“The suspect was ordered numerous times to drop this pistol and he disobeyed officers’ commands,” interim Police Chief Orlando Rodriguez said at a news conference. “He pointed the weapon at the officers, at which point the officers that were actively engaged by the suspect fired at least twice.”

These are the facts, but this is my opinion:  Stupid kid should have put the gun down.  Stupid cops need to use non-lethal weapons in schools and in general.   Maybe there is more to the story I am not certain.

Yesterday night as I was riding the MUNI 71 bus into the Sunset… A group of loud high school students were making their presence known by speaking with as much volume as they could to each other.  Their conversation started with some trash talk about one of their friends who was not with them.  The loudest girl said, “OMG, Tina is such a whore and a major alcoholic.”  The only guy in the group said, “look who is talking!?”  and then asked “why do you drink so much?”  She got defensive and said she doesn’t drink anymore.  So he asked “really, can I look into your backpack?”  The girl tightened her grip on the back pack and said it wasn’t hers.   “Yeah Right!” he said.  She laughed and said, “What? I was sober for two weeks…”

At this point I stopped listening and began to think back when I was in High School and being stupid and obnoxious was cool.  I remember all the crazy stupid things I did as a stupid person and can’t help but think that being foolish is phase.  A dangerous phase at that for kids who like to point fake guns at cops.  People have not become more or less foolish these days.  Foolishness has been a part of humanity since the first foolish act of eating a forbidden fruit.

God did something amazing he died for our foolishness and has called us out of this deadly phase into maturity, hope, and love.

In this world we will always be surounded by the foolishness of the world but Jesus is calling you out.  It is time to grow up.

 

Be Blessed

Sean Trank

About Sean Trank

My name is Sean Trank. I aspire to help those who want to succeed. I am a promoter of many things and I love making good ideas known. I also have a unique sense of humor that has been honed and shaped from having a Jewish Christian background...or maybe it is because my childhood house had lead-based paint. Ok so please explore this website .

Leave a Reply

