I like to explore the inter-web, who doesn’t?  I Google the most random things in search for the latest movements on the web.  My brother Aaron Trank informed my of a website called Klout.com that analyzes all your activity on every social network and magically regurgitates it as popularity points for your own viewing pleasure.  But this is not the coolest part about Klout.  Klout also gives you access to new start-ups and projects based on your score and your topics of interest.  Klout calls these perks For example, I recently was given a perk to join the fight against Aids by creating a digital tile for a digital quilt at 2015quilt.com.  Interesting way to create awareness using my generations narcissistic leanings and combining them to say look at all of us who don’t like Aids.  My question is, will this work?

What are we actually suppose to do in order to stop aids?  Safer sex?  No sex?  Cleaner hospitals?  Isolate the infected?  Find a better vaccine?  In my pledge to make people aware of the issue I also pledged to make good choices for myself as well as for the ones I love.  I think the entire problem can be boiled down to the individuals choice which can effect generation after generation.  We make choices every day which affect those around us.  It is often times our desires that lead us to make the bad choices which we do not know are bad choices until we have felt the consequences of that choice.  So now the question is , how do we no good choices from bad choices?

What does history teach us?  Well if not anything it shows us all the bad choice we have made before.  It is the idea of teaching history that we learn from previous mistakes so that we may make better choices in the future.  Today’s  American society is so caught up in not offending anyone’s personal beliefs that we will not say what is right and what is wrong.  In our education system we focus on grey issues like sexual identity, anti-bullying, cultural sensitivity.   Isn’t the goal of education to prepare us for reality?  It reminds me of C.S. Lewis’ “The Abolition of Men” in which C. S. Lewis attacks a new curriculum that does not define anything as absolute and therefore everything is up for interpretation.  Lewis, predicts that those raised with no absolute values will grow up to be “men without chests.”  In other words, people who have no say because everything they say will offend someone else’s  world view.  What do you think about this?

I was definitely taught how to think, and there is nothing wrong with that.  It gave me foundation to challenge myself and others and deal with reality logically and rationally.  All of my teachers had a hand in shaping my thought process and encouraged me to explore thoughts outside of my culture and make educated choices.  Today our foundation has been compromised and nothing secure can be built upon it without it intruding on someone else truth.  My opinion is that this is ridiculous!

So back to Aids…  Do you think creating a digital quilt will stop people from making bad choices?  Or is there another way?

2009 Aids Map

Sean Trank

About Sean Trank

My name is Sean Trank. I aspire to help those who want to succeed. I am a promoter of many things and I love making good ideas known. I also have a unique sense of humor that has been honed and shaped from having a Jewish Christian background...or maybe it is because my childhood house had lead-based paint. Ok so please explore this website .

Leave a Reply

