As many of you know and many more of you don’t know a few months ago I had an epic battle with Orbitz.com over a ticket they charged me for and refused to refund. I was furious and told them if they don’t do what is right I’m gonna tell everyone I know what happened and that would result in a far greater loss than $200. They didn’t believe me so I created a video on youtube explaining the situation.

After that I created an even on Facebook and invited all my friends. I titled the event, “Orbitz is Going Down!”

This generated lots of new ideas, like tweet at Orbitz.com my complaint, so I did.

I did not hear back from Orbitz right away and then a good friend of mine suggested I contact the Media. So I emailed all the different news channel in the bay area and later that day I got a response from ABC 7 On Your Side. They came to my house and interviewed me.

Soon after I made contact with the Media, Orbitz wanted to talk.

Later that week I was issued a refund and given a full apology. Now here is the thing. I really ever do this. It is easy for me to let things go most of the time if it is an individual who has cheated me. However, I found that when you let an company get away with robbery you doom the next victim. You need to stand up and fight because the problem will be reoccurring for many other people who let them get away with it. When I was on the phone with Orbitz I suggested that they pay a programmer to look at the mobile site and fix the problem before they lose anymore costumer. They have already lost several from my experience.

Well like I said we need to stand up to these things and warn each other which companies have been unethical and which companies we should avoid. So if you have been swindled by a company lately, and I mean honestly swindled, not a return policy that you forgot to read, then tell me about it so I can warn others.

Thanks for reading and click like on this story.

Sean Trank

About Sean Trank

My name is Sean Trank. I aspire to help those who want to succeed. I am a promoter of many things and I love making good ideas known. I also have a unique sense of humor that has been honed and shaped from having a Jewish Christian background...or maybe it is because my childhood house had lead-based paint. Ok so please explore this website .

4 responses »

  1. Isaac says:

    WAY TO GO DUDE. You rock 🙂

  2. Chris says:

    If you remember, Dad and I had a similar experience with Travelocity. Due to a mistake in entering information on their website when booking a flight through them, they would not allow us to use the points we had earned. We talked with several people at various levels and they would not budge. The problem is that the website for the booking process was confusing and if you make a mistake there is no grace. At the time, we did not consider using social or news media.
    Glad you were able to get satisfaction and hold the company accountable.

  3. I’m really inspired with your writing abilities as neatly as with the structure to your blog. Is that this a paid subject or did you modify it yourself? Anyway stay up the nice quality writing, it’s uncommon to look a nice weblog like this one these days. Goodbye from France

  4. Always keep in mind “Imagination is more important than knowledge. For knowledge is limited to all we now know and understand, while imagination embraces the entire world, and all there ever will be to know and understand.” – Albert Einstein

Leave a Reply

