Some people you may know will tell you things like, “why do you write a blog, isn’t that a bit narcissistic?” I always respond “Maybe, I’m not sure what defines a person as narcissistic.”  I guess I often try to find where this question came from because it always seems like a way to attack a person who is self-expressive.  I think it is a funny balance.  How does one talk about their favorite subjects without being accused of being a Narc?

I had to think about this question for a few seconds before responding  with these three conclusions.  The first of which is that perhaps the person making the accusation does not know what a Narc really is and if that is the case it is your duty to give them a good solid definition, which I have done at the beginning of this post.  If a person thinks you are being selfish because you only write about things that interest you well what else do they expect.  It is a personal blog.  By all means, feel free to write your interests down in your blog and I will probably read it.  No, I think selfishness can come in many forms but being selective about your form of expression is not selfish.  Perhaps the opposite, withholding your expression may be the most selfish thing.  Like an artist who paints a picture to share with the world but then hordes it in his/her attic because it is their property.

Second, the accuser may be absolutely 100% correct and you are narcissistic, but ironically if you were you would never know it.  I have met many narcissistic people who’s favorite subject is anything about themselves.  They are very friendly people who are open books and will tell you every good thing about themselves.  The problem is that they don’t care about you, at least not at first.  Narcissists can be friends too, it just takes a lot more time and persistence.  Here is a tip:  When a Narc tells you an incredible story about themselves, try to think of a similar story of your own experience and interject it before the subject moves on.  Match their Narc with your own little bit of Narc, you’ll be surprised to see how positive response to a Narc will help them be interested in other people as well.  A negative response will only make a Narc more Narcy 🙂  Judging people never gets you anywhere good.  If something bothers you about another person it is in most cases a person problem that you have and the only person you have the right to judge is yourself, SO GET OVER IT.  Your relationships will be a lot more pleasant if you do.

Third, I honestly could not think of a third but maybe you can?  Please write your comments below and read more of my, that’s right Sean Trank; that’s me, blogs and help me promote myself by sharing this post on facebook or where ever you think people will read it 😉

Here is a famous quote

“Irony is my favorite subject” – Sean Trank

About Sean Trank

My name is Sean Trank. I aspire to help those who want to succeed. I am a promoter of many things and I love making good ideas known. I also have a unique sense of humor that has been honed and shaped from having a Jewish Christian background...or maybe it is because my childhood house had lead-based paint. Ok so please explore this website .

One response »

  1. ritarivera says:

    Sean, we’re all Narcs. We’re born that way. Here’s the logic: we were meant to be lovers of God-our original blueprint-but because of sin, we worship the idol of self instead. Just like what Romans 1 says, we’ve tossed God overboard and exchanged the Creator for the creature. That’s why we need a God intervention. Even as believers, our default position is self when we’re not looking to Jesus for everything-our purpose, contentment and identity. I hate to say it, but blogs and all the social media options are making millions off our narcissism. So check out my blog 🙂 http://gauchomarx.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

