I want to help you succeed in your business endeavors.   So listen, I have been selling books, videos, music, and everything else since I was in grade school.   Yes I would only participate in Show-and-Tell because I would sell whatever I brought to the other kids after class.  Ok so here we go…

Amazon.com is my favorite place to make a lot more money than I would at a garage sale.    The key is patience, also the key to practically everything else in life.  So lets start out by signing up for a free sellers account.  It is Easy!  Just watch this video.

Ok so now you are ready!  Now lets list your first item.  Things that sell are basically anything that has a upc or brand name/model#.  I will be using a book as an example.

Step 1: Find the item on Amazon.com that you are trying to sell.  If you have a newer and more popular book with a legitimate publisher you will find a ISBN# on the back cover or inside the first few pages by the publishers information.  This number will if typed into the search bar will direct you straight to the product page.  If you have an older book or less popular book it may not have a ISBN# in this case write the full Title and Authors Name.  Often times this search will give you multiple options for the same book.  This is because you are looking and different publishing companies who have printed the same book, to find the right book you can also add the Publishers company name to the search.  Make sure the publishers year matches.

Step 2: Decide on a sales price. Many times sellers will price a book based on what other sellers have done.  This is a terrible idea, especially if there are 100 books listed at .01 cent each.  No the key is patience.  List your book at the value you believe it should be.  I will never go under $5 as a standard, because think about it why would I spend hours finding, listing and shipping a book that only gets be a few bucks?  Seriously don’t waste your time with penny books.  There are a couple things you need to keep in mind.  PRINT IS GOING OUT, soon all these penny books will be rare and hard to get.  Also for some psychological reason certain people are more likely to buy the more expensive option because they think it is more valuable…which for them it is.  For example, I listed a book (as a joke) for $50 when there were over 100 others listed for .01 cent.  A few months later it sold.  BAM!  So remember no mater how unbelievable a price may seem, someone out there will be looking to buy your book.   Sub note: textbooks sell at full price at the beginning of a semester and drop to a few dollars a few months later.  Keep your prices high.

Step 3: Describe your Item Accurately.  How often do I get a complaint because a page has a tear or on page 347 there was a pencil underline?… NEVER, because I describe ever possible discrepancy that I can find.  Here is my standard  description for a used book:  (Mild shealfwear, pages have a mild yellow tint from age, name written on first page, dust cover has a coffee stain, water damage on last 30 pages, ready to ship!)  Now obviously my books are not this bad, but this covers all your ground for complaint.  The costumer needs to know exactly what they are getting.  IMPORTANT! I always make my descriptions personal, example (support a good cause, me… a starving post grad) This is often the best selling point.  A friend of mine recently started selling on Amazon, he chose the user name senddaughtertocollege and has added in his descriptions where the money is going.  Brilliant Moose!  Ok so just a quick tip once you have a good standard description that matches your books, copy and paste it for future listings.

Step 4: Communication is Key. Many of the buyers on Amazon are first timers, which means they are easily confused and they buy things before reading descriptions.  If they buy a book from me that has many infractions, I will send them a message and ask them if they read the description.  Some have but a few had not.  Why do I do this seeing how it was there fault and they should have been more careful?  Well it is called Ethics & Morals if you don’t have them you wont last long in this world.  No, by helping your costumers get what they really want you build trust and repeat costumers.  This is better than an easy $5.  Sometimes a buyer will contact me with a complaint about a product.  If their complaint is legitimate and they have contacted me within 7 days of receiving their item I will accept returns, which brings me to the final step.

Step 5: Protect Yourself. Scammers have tried to pull ridiculous things on me.  Example. I sold a book to a guy in the US and he complained that the book smelled weird and he threw it away and wanted his money back.  What?!  Smelled weird?  Ok guy that sounds like a personal problem, but OK in order for you to be eligible for a refund you need to return the book.  I wrote him back and called his bluff.  Long and stupid story short, the guy did not respond because liars never do…Ooo harsh! Ok so Amazon does a good job protecting the sellers.  When shipping an Item it is always important to add tracking it is only.19 cents and worth it.  Another scam is when a buyer claims it was not received.  When you have tracking they cannot make such silly claims.

So once you make a sale you will get a notice in your email inbox that says you made a sale please ship now.  Dont be overwhelmed, it is flippin easy.  Go to amazon and look at the order status, next to the sold product there is a tab that says buy shipping.  Click it and follow the instructions, it allows you to buy shipping from home and it deducts the cost from the shipping allowance that Amazon gives you.  With books I always ship media mail unless the book is under a pound I will than ship first-class.   Dont go spend a ton of money on shipping supplies when you can use plastic wrap and a paper grocery bag to get the job done. I always first wrapp the book with plastic and then just like a christmukkah gift, wrap the book with a reversed brown paper bag.  Easy now tape the lable you just printed to the book and toss it in the outgoing mail.

DONE

So now that you are rich from all the stuff you have been selling feel free to share the love 🙂  I like coffee and honey roasted peanuts

Peace Sean Trank

About Sean Trank

My name is Sean Trank. I aspire to help those who want to succeed. I am a promoter of many things and I love making good ideas known. I also have a unique sense of humor that has been honed and shaped from having a Jewish Christian background...or maybe it is because my childhood house had lead-based paint. Ok so please explore this website .

5 responses »

  1. Angelo Borth says:

    I?d have to verify with you here. Which is not something I often do! I get pleasure from reading a post that may make folks think. Additionally, thanks for allowing me to remark!

  2. Jason says:

    Thanks for this great article

  3. Marcos Kusky says:

    Who did you pay to do your design? Its really nicely designed I bet that is why you get so much traffic!

  4. printed tape says:

    Simply desire to say your article is as astonishing. The clearness to your put up is simply cool and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well together with your permission let me to seize your RSS feed to keep updated with impending post. Thanks 1,000,000 and please keep up the enjoyable work.

  5. Joshivity says:

    Thanks a heap for this post, glad to see there are still some excellent writers around the web!

Leave a Reply

